Where can I find MAME for DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by lojo, Feb 8, 2007.

Feb 8, 2007

Where can I find MAME for DS? by lojo at 11:16 PM (1,947 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. lojo
    OP

    Newcomer lojo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I keep looking around, but I have yet to find a link to a MAME port for the DS. Since it's been ported to ecerything from Palms and Kodak cameras, someone must have made a DS version, no?
     
  2. richardv

    Member richardv GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
  3. ReyVGM

    Member ReyVGM Game Endings Master

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    Mame for the DS?
    Rolling on the Floor Laughing My Arse Off
     
  4. lojo
    OP

    Newcomer lojo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you consider that funny? My Treo 650 handles most of the old school stuff just fine, so why wouldnt the DS?
     
  5. yee

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't get it either.

    A working MAME emulator would definitely be good for all the retro-gamers out there.
     
  6. heyyouguys

    Member heyyouguys GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, marcads works great. The one thing to remember is the roms need to be zipped but zero compression.
     
  7. lojo
    OP

    Newcomer lojo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the marcads tip - though it clains it cant find roms. I tried mario bros rom i had, unzipped it and re-zipped it with 0 compression. then I placed the zip in my apps folder (where the DS-X expects them), along with the executable. what am I doing wrong?
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does anybody know what version of MAME the romsets should be from?
     
  9. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It says to put them in a MARCADS folder on the root directory.
     
  10. lojo
    OP

    Newcomer lojo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I know but what root dir? FOr the DS-X roms go into the apps folder, so should they go in apps or the actual root of the DS-X? and how about the marcads.nds file itself? i tried both combinations and neither seemed to work.
     
  11. Trace II

    Newcomer Trace II Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    You find MAME on the ds funny, but not cameras??!?
     
  12. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    mame... I dunno
    I have my doubts it could handle games like afterburnerII
     
  13. Empyre

    Newcomer Empyre Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Farnborough (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The cameras have a faster cpu than the DS. It's all about cpu speed in emulation (especially MAME) and the DS just doesn't have the knackers.
     
  14. seank

    Newcomer seank Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Australia
    My Nokia 6600 can emulate MAME, and it completely falls over when trying to emulate the SNES (ie. 2-3fps).

    Since the DS can emulate the SNES pretty well, why exactly couldn't it emulate basic MAME games?
     
  15. squinty

    Newcomer squinty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Its all about finding someone who knows enough about the specific DS hardware that is interested in programming it.

    The DS can emulate lots of stuff if the emulators are coded correctly and tightly, specifically for it. Some emulators require so much CPU power that it may be impossible, but I think there is alot more possible out there than what is currently available.

    One of the problems is that the PSP is so much stronger that people can simply dump and port almost any emulator right to it without tweaking it for it's specific hardware. So, why try to emulate stuff on the DS when it can be done on another handheld so easily?
     

Share This Page