Where can I find EMPTY cheat.dat's?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by HippieMann, Aug 14, 2007.

Aug 14, 2007
  1. HippieMann
    OP

    Newcomer HippieMann Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    The link posted in the guide for action replaying or whatever is dead or something.

    I've been searching for awhile now and I can't find any empty cheat.dat's [​IMG]
     


  2. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
  3. HippieMann
    OP

    Newcomer HippieMann Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a bunch [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  4. HippieMann
    OP

    Newcomer HippieMann Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, where do I put the empty Cheat.dat and usrcheat.dat?

    I can't put it in system cause it tries to replace the other one.

    And when I tried it in just a regular place, it doesn't show up..
     
  5. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats what your supposed to do.

    In order for the usrcheat.dat to work, you havd to delete the original CHEAT.DAT file.

    You dont have to delete it!

    It's so simple!

    Open notepad, dont write anything, save as cheat.dat.

    Thats it!
     
  6. HippieMann
    OP

    Newcomer HippieMann Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, I don't understand..

    You kind of contradict yourself in this..
     
  7. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Ok, if you have acquired a blank cheat.dat file from khan, place it in the folder _system_ and delete the previous cheat.dat from the _system_ folder.

    Note: Delete the cheat.dat that has space (80MB or something). The empty cheat.dat should be 0KB.
     
  8. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, i meant you have to delete the original CHEAT.DAT file in order to Replace it with an empty one. Then you can use the usrcheat.dat file instead.

    To make your own CHEAT.DAT file, Go to

    Notepad > File > Save As > Cheat.dat (remember to put .dat on the end) > place the file in the _system_ folder, and click yes to replace.
     
  9. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you wouldnt have to delete the CHEAT.DAT for it to work, you'd just have to replace the USRCHEAT.DAT with it.the cheat and usr cheat are 2 different cheat databases.
     
  10. dbgtdob

    Member dbgtdob GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    the guide is outdated, you dont need to make your cheat.dat blank anymore the R4 supports it now, there will be two cheat boxes, one for your cheat.dat and one for your urcheat.dat.
     
  11. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like i said in another thread, to make a blank CHEAT.dat for the R4 V 1.11:

    Open up notepad/wordpad
    Pick 'Save as...'
    name it 'CHEAT.dat'
    Place it in _system_
     
  12. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not on my R4DS.

    It's one or the other.

    Im using firmware 1.11.
     
  13. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dbgtdob, you need a CHEAT.dat and a usrcheat.dat.

    they won't be 2 box's.


    well that is going by the info i got from the R4 Team and what i do with my R4.
     
  14. HippieMann
    OP

    Newcomer HippieMann Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, well when I delete the original cheat.dat with all the codes and I replace it with an empty cheat.Dat and a usrcheat.dat the "Cheat (y)" option isn't there anymore..
     
  15. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to add codes to the usrcheat.dat file.
     
  16. HippieMann
    OP

    Newcomer HippieMann Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I did.

    I made some pokemon using Pokesav and I saved the XML save file as usrcheat.dat and paired it with the empty CHEAT.dat in my system folder and the "Cheat (y)" doesn't show up.
     
  17. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    My ultimate USRCHEAT.DAT download now includes a blank CHEAT.DAT for you to use.

    I too got two boxes when trying to use both dat's with codes in them, so I took the original CHEAT.DAT and combined it with the latest USRCHEAT.DAT and have been adding codes to it.

    In this download, you will find a blank CHEAT.DAT and a fully loaded USRCHEAT.DAT

    USRCHEAT.rar

    Don't forget to unzip it.
     
  18. HippieMann
    OP

    Newcomer HippieMann Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks.

    I guess now the problem is..

    I don't get the two boxes. Maybe I don't have the latest version.
     
  19. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Rayder!


    *adds to mem. stick*

    Thanks so much for your continued efforts!
     
  20. HippieMann
    OP

    Newcomer HippieMann Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I still don't get the two boxes..
     

Share This Page