1. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
    Hello guys, I just want to know where can I buy a New Nintendo 3ds in the web for CFW. Can I buy a japanese NN3ds and then change the region?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    That's a possibility the White jap units sometimes have 8.1 and 9.0 though as time passes your chances are even lower. Use this thread to find a New 3DS on the needed firmware http://gbatemp.net/threads/n3ds-xl-firmware-by-version-number.381479/
     
    Sam_SpadeR likes this.
  3. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
  4. If you went with a Japanese one, careful as you may end up with 8.1J which is difficult in terms of CFW. You'd need a GW.
    (There's another option but it is not noob-friendly.)
     
  5. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
    Got it, man, so... What about with an USA new nintendo 3ds? Do I need the GW with any of those?
     
  6. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Its just the 8.1 firmware in general since it has no browser
     
  7. US ones, you'd have to get an XL because all US regular-size ones are over 9.2
    XL can be 9.0-9.2 but it gets rarer as time goes by. There's a thread here if you can check the serial numbers on the box before buying them, but it still isn't 100% certain you'll get that version if you buy one from those serial numbers. That and they get rarer as time goes by.
     
    Sam_SpadeR likes this.
  8. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
    Thanks, man. Now, Im asking for a red one XL with this number on the list: QW1018 (Red) - Confirmed, 9.0.0-20U. I need the GW card for this to do the CFW?
     
  9. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    No you don't need a flash card unless you plan on buying a New 3DS on 9.3+ you can use homemenuhax with mini pasta or setup rxTools for free.
     
    Sam_SpadeR likes this.
  10. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
    Thanks, man! So Homemenuhax or rxTools should work, right?
     
  11. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Sam_SpadeR likes this.
  12. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
  13. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
    Big question, man: with GW you mean I would need all the GW cards (the red gateway card and the blue one)? Please help on this, I almost have a japenese NN3ds on 8.1. What should I do?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I have Zelda Ocarina of Time. This game works to hack the japenese console or something, man?
     
  14. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    stay clear of 8.1 units unless you have a japanese OOT cart or japanese cubic ninja cart.
     
    Last edited by Xenon Hacks, Dec 13, 2015
    Sam_SpadeR likes this.
  15. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
    Ok, man. What about if I buy a GW (both cards)? This would work on this japanese console on 8.1?
     
  16. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    It's a New 3DS so you would need those game to launch the Gateway menu either way.
     
  17. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
    Oh, so I need to have one of those games to could make work the GW menu? There´s no possibility to get it work with just the GW?
     
  18. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    No unless you plan on buying an Original 3DS (XL) or a 2DS.
     
  19. Sam_SpadeR

    OP Sam_SpadeR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Colombia
    Thanks, man. And one final question there: It would be possible using a copy of the japanese version of Zelda OoT with a Sky3ds on it to launch the GW menu and make the CFW?
     
  20. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you could use a Japanese Cubic Ninja rom temporarily to update to 9.2.0-20 and setup rxTools by using homemenuhax but buying one defeats the purpose of setting up CFW if you have someone who owns a skycard that is an option or you can buy one, do what you need to do, and return it.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, Where,