where can i download media center

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Zenith94, Nov 9, 2008.

Nov 9, 2008
  1. Zenith94
    OP

    Member Zenith94 1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    for my xbox it says i can link my xbox to my pc using media center. it says to go to microsoft.com/extender but it doesnt let me download it. so where should i go?
     
  2. otto888

    Member otto888 I break things for a living.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Country:
    United States
    You should goto Best Buy to get a pc with vista ultimate. You can't download Media Center....saddly....
     
  3. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    If you have Vista Premium or Ultimate you already have it installed.
     
  4. GN-001 Exia

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    or just use Windows Media Player 11.

    Idiots
     
  5. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Noob, streaming media using WMP and Windows media center extender are 2 different things. You can't use your 360 as a media center extender unless you have a PC with some form of Windows Media Center. Like, myuusmeow said, its included in Vista Ultimate and Vista Home Premium. You can also use Windows XP Media Center Edition but it doesn't look as snazzy as Vista's. Media Center is part of the OS so you can't download it seperately.

    Like the noob said, just use media sharing in WMP to stream stuff until you can get your hands on one of those.
     
  6. Zenith94
    OP

    Member Zenith94 1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    so do i have to buy it

    i have xp by the way
     
  7. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    No you need to install XP media centre edition, you cant upgrade your current XP to it as far as I know.

    Personally I find it pointless streaming through my pc as the 360 only plays divx, I usually just stick a bunch of shows on a flashdrive if i want to watch stuff through the 360, or I plug a USB hdd into it!
     
  8. Zenith94
    OP

    Member Zenith94 1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    where can i download xp media center edition i looked everywhere
     
  9. CorruptedAngel

    Member CorruptedAngel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    errrrr {insert very illegle but fun torrent site here} *cowers away from the mods*
     
  10. Zenith94
    OP

    Member Zenith94 1337 h4x0r f0r t3h w1nz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    oh i though you could download it from download.com i didnt know you needed a toreent
     
  11. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Windows XP Media Center is the FULL OPERATING SYSTEM... there are 4 versions of XP...

    XP Home
    XP Professional
    XP Media Center
    XP Tablet PC

    For Vista, there are more options...

    Vista Home Basic
    Vista Home Premium - media center included
    Vista Ultimate - media center included
    Vista Business

    You can only get Extender if you have XP Media Center, Vista Home Premium or Vista Ultimate

    There are torrents out there that are burnable to DVD that include every version of XP, so you can install any version you like.
     
  12. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    What he said^^

    But honestly man its a lot of trouble to go to, if I was you I would just use an external HDD or flashdrive, going to all that effort just to be able to stream to a 360 is not worth it.
     
  13. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    Winamp remote allows you to stream your music and videos through winamp.com/remote on things like PC, Wii, 360, and PS3.
     
  14. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wonder if you could use bartpe ( http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/ ) or similar to pull such a thing off, I say bartpe and trying to pull this off with virtualisation (even a relatively transparent setup) is going to take far more effort than it is worth. This being said it is probably preferable to getting vista to an acceptable standard.

    Failing that can I suggest and original xbox and XBMC. Streaming is very easy with that.

    edit:
    on second thought I was doing some searching and "Windows XP to Media Center Edition 2005 Converter" appeared and a cursory search says 360 compatibility exists.
     
  15. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Oh it's worth it, especially if you streaming HD stuff like me [​IMG] Then again, you don't really NEED media center to stream stuff.
     

Share This Page