Where can i buy AceKard2i in Canada?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by NBAPwns13, Jan 14, 2013.

Jan 14, 2013
  1. NBAPwns13
    OP

    Member NBAPwns13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    Aight so im back from along time and i feel really bad for selling my Acekard2i. I forgot where i bought it but it was 40 dollars! so im looking for a cheap one.

    Is there a site where i can get a real Acekard2i in Canada?

    Thanks!
     
  2. LoloLakitu

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    I got mine for $20 at gamespree.net, now that I look, they're $16. Gamespree is legit, for proof, look on ShopTemp.
     
  3. stitch123

    Newcomer stitch123 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    www.nds-card.com free shipping worldwide.

    BUT! You must have Nintendo DSi 1.4.4 or lower or 3DS 4.3.0 or lower. AK2i don't support and NEVER wouldn't suport DSi 1.4.5 and 3DS 4.4.0, 4.5.0!

    Hope they'll make new model :(
     
  4. Aeter

    Member Aeter A walking contradiction

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    The lands of nether
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I wouldn't recommend the Acekard anymore, since the team is as good as dead.
    The best cards at the moment are the Supercard DSTWO and the R4i Gold 3DS from r4ids.cn.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  6. NBAPwns13
    OP

    Member NBAPwns13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    @Rydian

    What do you rec commend that i should get and not too expensive? i have a Ds Lite and im probably not even going to upgrade to the newer Ds's
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you're not going to update then the AK2i would be find on older systems, or the R4i Gold linked in that thread.
     
  8. NBAPwns13
    OP

    Member NBAPwns13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    Also all i want to do is play games on it thats all , not those fancy stuff that the card somes with just simple download and play and also with updates cause i ain't buying no card if there not updating firmware. Most games i want to play are like Pokemon Black 2 etc...
     
  9. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Country:
    United States

    You're all set then, AK2i works with all DS lites, forever and ever. But newer games will require a flash cart that is updated, DStwo is expensive.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Firmware updates are for DSi/3DS compatibility, it's the software/kernel updates that do game compatibility.
     
  11. NBAPwns13
    OP

    Member NBAPwns13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    Also i got a question umm how do i play gameboy on the Acekard2i? Do i need an expansion pack or whatever its called ?D:
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    For Gameboy and Gameboy Color you can use the Goomba Color homebrew I think it's called, not sure which version.

    For proper Gameboy Advance support, you will need an expansion pack such as an EZ-Flash 3-in-1.
     
  13. NBAPwns13
    OP

    Member NBAPwns13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    Can i buy an R4 original? do they still do firmware updates cause that thing is pre damn old
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The original R4 doesn't have firmware updates because it doesn't work on anything past the DS Lite. As for software updates for game compatibility. it stopped years ago, but Wood supports then.

    Then again the original R4 can only use up to a 2GB MicroSD so most people go for a newer cart like the R4i Gold that still has Wood support and can use 32GB.
     
  15. sliver123

    Member sliver123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Zuid-Holland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    they are not dead they are only slow and there was something about hw one type they continued and other was dead
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The HW81 had more space than the HW44 and that's why it was able to continue after it was dead, but the 81 ran out of space eventually too.

    This happens with carts. Lots of other carts have run out of space and abandoned the old models as well.

    If the Ak2i team comes back, it will either be with some great compression that allows them to fit a newer update (but will make booting even slower than it's gotten), or a new model.
     
  17. Aeter

    Member Aeter A walking contradiction

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    The lands of nether
    Country:
    Netherlands
    For GB and GBC I'd go with Lameboy. Goomba Color is for GBA. There is supposed to be a DS port but I don't think that's up to par with Lameboy.
    Unless you meant for it to be used in combination with the EZ 3in1.
     
    Rydian likes this.
  18. Saroyth
    This message by Saroyth has been removed from public view by p1ngpong, Feb 12, 2013.
    Jan 20, 2013

Share This Page