When I hacked my Wii I blocked internet access...how do I get it back?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Rimshot42, Nov 5, 2011.

  1. Rimshot42
    OP

    Newcomer Rimshot42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Forgive me for not knowing the exact details, as it's been a year since I hacked my Wii, but when I did there was an option to block the internet connection entirely to sort of safe-guard anything that could go wrong. I clicked that option and I specifically remember it saying there was a way to un-do the blocking, but I cant remember how.

    Any tips?
     
  2. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    what did you use to block it?
     
  3. Rimshot42
    OP

    Newcomer Rimshot42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    unfortunately I don't remember which step it was, but it was at some point in the ModMii process if that helps at all....
     
  4. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    priiloader ?
    try holding reset on boot
     
  5. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    The only things I know of that can do a similar thing are priiloader & startpatch and I don't remember seeing an option in either of them to fully block internet .

    Since you say it was part of ModMii I believe it was priiloader which only blocks online update not the whole connection . Anyway to disable it just press restart when booting the wii & disable it from there .
     
  6. Rimshot42
    OP

    Newcomer Rimshot42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Ok im in Priiloader and it looks like it was the Block Online Updates option that I enabled....so you guys are saying I should still be able to have internet access with this enabled?

    hmmm my problem must lie elsewhere

    It keep failing the connection test....is there any settings I would have to change to get this to work with a fiber-optic connection?
     
  7. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    why not disable the online update blocker
    since an online update has to be initiated manually you can simply not start it instead

    iirc in priiloader there is an option to make the connection test fail too
     
  8. Rimshot42
    OP

    Newcomer Rimshot42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I tried disabling the online update blocker and that didnt help.....and I noticed the force-connection-test-fail option and that was disabled.

    It keeps giving me error code 52030 if that means anything to you guys

    any last minute tips before I give up?

    I appreciate the help!
     
  9. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/wfc/en_na/ds/results.jsp?error_code=52030&system=Wii&locale=lang
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Re-enable your online and disc update blocker hacks; they're not causing your problem.

    Go here for help with your error code: http://www.nintendo....ii&locale=en_US
     
  11. Rimshot42
    OP

    Newcomer Rimshot42 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
  12. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    i like that you were sitting on that error code this whole time, and never bothered to look it up.

    had the error code proven fruitless, then i could see this thread existing.
     

Share This Page