When did PS2 emulation get so good?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by fischju, Mar 11, 2008.

Mar 11, 2008
  1. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    The last time I checked (Which is, I'll admit, over a year and a half ago) playing PS2 games at speed was impossible!

    Now with PCSX2 9.5 and GsDX 1.7, a fast PC can play a crap load of games? I have RE4 running at 50FPS with no graphical glitches! Shmups like Raidum and R-Type run perfectly!

    Can any of you confirm which games actually work on an X2 3800+? Wipeout Fusion runs at 15FPS ("playable", but when 5 real seconds = 1 game second, it isn't.) and GTA Vice City Stories runs at 20 (1/3 speed)

    For PS2 emulation you need this
    http://forums.ngemu.com/ps2-plugin-questio...z-releases.html
    and this http://forums.ngemu.com/ps2-plugin-questio...97657-gsdx.html
    and the PS2 BIOS,
    and this http://www.pcsx2.net/downloads.php
     


  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    If only Tales of the Abyss worked well...
     
  3. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    That is playable according to the newest compatibility list, I haven't tried it. Games run best on C2D and GSDX 1.7 with SSSE3 enabled.
     
  4. eldaddio

    Newcomer eldaddio Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What sort of PC specs are recommended for these emus?
     
  5. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    You need at least a dual core proc (Higher end X2, C3D) and 7000/1900 series card to run any game well.
     
  6. Lyuse

    Lyuse Newbie

    Does any game of the Budokai Tenkaichi series work on PCSX2 ?
     
  7. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
  8. Lyuse

    Lyuse Newbie

    Cool seems like Budokai Tenkaichi 3 is playable
     
  9. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    C3D!!! CORE 3 DUO? I'LL NEED TO SELL MY CORE 2 DUO AND GRAB ONE OF THESE IMMEDIATELY. [​IMG]
     
  10. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Does this look familiar to anybody?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    It works, but sound sucks so bad my ears bleed, and its an RPG so sound sets mood for the scenes.
     
  12. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Which plugins have you tried for sound, and which options for said plugins?
     
  13. SeanoRLY?

    Member SeanoRLY? GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow, I'm really interested in hearing more about this. I was just looking at possible softmods for my PS2 (I'm really, really broke for money atm) but if emulation has picked up, I'll have to try it out.

    I have a E2180, 8800GT 512mb and 2gig of RAM. Should be beefy enough [​IMG]

    Mind sharing all the stuff you're using with me? xD
     
  14. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    I think the graphic card you have plays a major role in emulation now days. Even back in PSX emulation, it was more depended on the graphics cards. I think with Geforce 11 and Core 4 Duo, we should emulate games for PS2 perfectly.
     
  15. SeanoRLY?

    Member SeanoRLY? GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I downloaded all the necessary stuff for this emulator to work. Just waiting for a game... You know ;D

    Hopefully it works fine! If not, I'm going to look into softmodding my phat PS2.
     
  16. tjas

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
  17. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow.. never new PS2 existed. I'm so outdated when it comes to Sony. I think I have a decent computer to run the PS2 emulator. [​IMG]

    Hopefully I'll get to play Disgaea series. Probably some of the Final Fantasy series as well since I missed all of the ones that were on PS2. And Kingdom Hearts, despite having a Kingdom Hearts sig and ava.
     
  18. ceelo

    Member ceelo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    United States
    Everytime I try to run a game, it shows the ZeroOS screen and then a black screeen and stays there! I know its still doing something because it says fps 170 and keeps around that number... How do you guys get it up and running?
     
  19. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    at the price it costs to upgrade your pc to actually play the games on the pc you could have brought a slim ps2 and swap magic, completly pointless
     
  20. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup
     

Share This Page