Whats wrong with the cheats?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Mr.Guy, Jun 29, 2008.

Jun 29, 2008

Whats wrong with the cheats? by Mr.Guy at 9:23 AM (3,531 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    The hell is wrong here?? I cant use any cheats they are all grey and I cant toggle any of them on. I heard that 1.18 update screwed this up so I went ahead and downgraded my R4's firmware to 1.13 and guess what same thing. I changed it to 1.11 1.10 and it STILL will not work. Then I thought that something was wrong with my Micro so I backed up all of my files to my comp, formated my SD and then put all of the files back up and it still will not work. [​IMG] Whats wrong here? Did the new firmware do something to my card? Am I doing something wrong? Or is this the R4 teams doing? Its bad enough that most new games wont work, but now I cant even use cheats on games that DO work. This is like a kick to the face. Please help!
     


  2. Curley5959

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Have you ticked the box Cheat Enable?? In the cheat section thing when you press y?? Depends if you are using usrcheat.dat or just cheat.dat?? If usrcheat, thats your problem, so try the ordinary cheat.dat!!

    Let me know how it goes!! [​IMG]
     
  3. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    Hey I'm not stupid. Of course I've tried everything. I think that when I used that new firmware it permanently screwed with my R4 chip.
     
  4. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    The firmware should not effect the chip in the R4 at all. It's just a loader.

    When you update the firmware, be sure to delete the old _DS_MENU.SYS. That file is re-created when you boot the new firmware. Not deleting it when updating the firmware can cause weird things to happen.

    Cheats seem to be working fine on my R4, and I'm using 1.18.
     
  5. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    I already made sure that my _DS_MENU.SYS was erased.

    I'm havening the same problem on my other Micro SD also.
     
  6. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have 'cheat enable' AND 'game enable' checked?
     
  7. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
  8. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
     
  9. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    I tried that like when it first came out. It still will not work. I wouldn't have posted this if I hadn't done everything.
     
  10. Curley5959

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Have you tried another Cheat.dat file??

    You probably have but I dont know why its not working...
     
  11. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    I tried 3 different files; all three have failed me.
     
  12. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    What folder did you put it in?
     
  13. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    I put them in there respectable folders. (The right ones)
     
  14. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    That doesn't help at all
     
  15. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    There's only one folder that they go into. And instead of smarting off to people who try to help you, why don't you answer they're questions when they ask you.
     
  16. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    What the hell? I did answer you. And I thank you people for helping me. Dont try and act like your the word around here.

    I put USERCHEAT.DAT in _SYSTEM_. AKA its respectable folder.
     
  17. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Did you also put cheat.dat in _system_? usrcheat may not work without cheat.dat
     
  18. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I also tried cheat.dat and it had no affect.
     
  19. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Post a screenshot of your folder structure so i can help you further.
     
  20. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page