1. reiyu

    OP reiyu Canadian, eh?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    N3DS 8.1.0-0J user here with Gateway being launched with MSET. I've read threads that the FW I have can't launch RXTools since it doesn't have a web browser, but what bothers me is that I have MSET with Gateway and also people are saying that I can't make use of that MSET exploit to launch RXTools either. Correct me if I'm wrong, MSET doesn't need the browser right? I haven't really tried to tinker much with modifying anything aside from what I read from tutorials as I am afraid of a brick, so I just want to know what's stopping people from using Gateway MSET to launch RXTools on any N3DS without a browser?
     
  2. Abcdfv

    Abcdfv What comes around goes around.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,455
    Country:
    United States
    RXTools has it's own MSET payload, you just have to use that instead. I'm not sure if it has it for N3DS though, i have an O3DS.
     
  3. doctorgoat

    doctorgoat GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    661
    Country:
    United States
    They just point to different locations.

    rxtools mset is setting the mset exploit to run rxtools.dat. gateway's is setting it to run launcher.dat. You can rename whatever you want in the place of the files they intended you to use to run them.
     
  4. SirByte

    SirByte GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    There was Pasta CFW which *was* compatible with GW MSET, which is the reason I still use it as all you need to do is swap out the SD card. Of course, because the payload is loader.dat

    It would be interesting to know why rxTools (other than on purpose to make it suck to switch between CFW and GW) cannot use "loader.dat" and use the same addresses.
     
  5. reiyu

    OP reiyu Canadian, eh?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    If i do use the .nds file that's with RXTools to use the payload, would I be able to just load it?
     
  6. Abcdfv

    Abcdfv What comes around goes around.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,455
    Country:
    United States
    Yep.
     
  7. reiyu

    OP reiyu Canadian, eh?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it really that simple? then why are people saying you can't load RXTools in 8.1.0-0J then?
     
  8. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,464
    Country:
    United States
    8.1 uses a different payload and lots of rop edits, @laramie is the only one i know of who is close
     
  9. Abcdfv

    Abcdfv What comes around goes around.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,455
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I didn't realize 8.1 was different, i thought it would be the same as any other downgraded system settings.
     
  10. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,464
    Country:
    United States
    N3ds 8.1 J is the only crap shoot exception
     
    Deleted-236924, MelonGx and Abcdfv like this.
  11. reiyu

    OP reiyu Canadian, eh?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    How come Gateway only has one configuration for all N3DS? Is this their company trade secret that nobody knows how to use yet?
     
  12. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,464
    Country:
    United States
    Since nobody as publically cracked their encryption to see their rop chain for 8.1 we are forced to dump ram sectors one by one and build the rop chain from the ground up.
     
  13. reiyu

    OP reiyu Canadian, eh?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    is it that complicated to reroute the file that is being launched from launcher.dat to rxtools.dat?
     
  14. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,464
    Country:
    United States
    Feel free to experiment with it yourself. I find it easier to update to 9.1
     
  15. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    Dude...stop trying to make things sound so simple. People are already telling you it doesn't work the way you think it does. Look into doing a back up of your sysnand, update it to 9.1/9.2, do another backup and make sure its name different so you can tell which sysnand is which, and knock yourself out with whatever mset you want to use.
     
  16. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,464
    Country:
    United States
    Waiting for them to say how easy it is to update from 8.1 and make a new post
     
  17. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    Same
     
  18. reiyu

    OP reiyu Canadian, eh?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    i'm trying to actually ask proper questions here, you don't have to go on every 8.1.0-0J topic and shitpost on it. instead of telling me "NO YOU CAN'T", why not tell me WHY? if i had the luxury of having a hardmod or shitloads of cash to buy 3DSes, i would have done it myself.
     
  19. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    The payloads in the 8.1 ROP aren't documented or known

    GW Launcher is heavily encrypted, so there's no way to easily figure out what it's doing.

    If someone discovers the series of ROP that GW is using, then they can fix it to work with RXTools. Though it's probably unlikely unless someone figures it out via memory/stack dumps or someone reverses GW code (highly unlikely)
     
    Last edited Nov 9, 2015
    Ronhero likes this.
  20. Ronhero

    Ronhero Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,464
    Country:
    United States
    I explained in good detail as to why it won't work so you got your answer, you just don't like it because it is not what you where looking for

    As I mentioned before I only know of one person working on it and they are 95% close to 8.1 mset and I am not ready to release 8.1 to 9.1 so it's happening just not publically anymore
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - compatible, Gateways, RXTools