whats the maximum size sd card a r4 can take?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by mo_j90, Nov 30, 2007.

Nov 30, 2007
  1. mo_j90
    OP

    Newcomer mo_j90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    at the moment i have 1gb but its not enough, is the maximum micro sd you can get on an r4 2gb? or can u get any bigger sizes?
     
  2. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
  3. mo_j90
    OP

    Newcomer mo_j90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what about the 2nd generation r4? is 2gb the max
     
  4. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    There's no such thing out in the market ATM.

    But the new product by the R4 team is supposed to be SDHC compatible, so the maximum would be 32gb.
     
  5. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    For now it is 2GB untill the SDHC version of the R4 is released which you would have to buy a new R4 with SDHC.
     
  6. Mars

    Member Mars Radioactive Propaganda Minister

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    United States
    2GB although I remember reading on the R4 website that it supports up to 4 GB microSDs. However, this is not possible, as 2 GB
    is the hardware limit of MicroSD.
     
  7. mo_j90
    OP

    Newcomer mo_j90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i was checking out the r4 website and came across this on the FAQ

    Q: How many files can I have on the R4?
    A: R4 Adapter supports 128MB~4GB TF(MicroSD) card

    ^^^^so thats not true, does the new r4 take 4gb? the new1 with the new shell
     
  8. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    No, it's just a new -and uglier- shell.
     
  9. mo_j90
    OP

    Newcomer mo_j90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i see. ok thanx
     
  10. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you can find a non-sdhc (Non standard) 4GB MicroSD, it will work fine with your R4
     
  11. mo_j90
    OP

    Newcomer mo_j90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    isit rare to find?
     
  12. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, unfortunately. As they are non-standard, many devices will not support them.
     
  13. mo_j90
    OP

    Newcomer mo_j90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh i see might aswell just get a 2gb then. whats the reason why it cant take 4gb isit the hardware or will it be available in future updates?
     
  14. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure it's the hardware, as the bootloader isn't updateable.
     
  15. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    The established standard maximum for non-SDHC SD cards is 2GB. There IS a such thing as a non-SDHC microSD that is 4GB, but it is very hard to find and is very slow....not to mention that it doesn't conform to established SD standards and may not work properly in many card readers or devices. While the R4 may technically support such a card, its speed would likely result in many games crashing or hesitating on you.

    The R4's with the new shell style are essentially the same exact card as the old-style R4, but the spring was removed from the microSD slot because of issues with the spring, and the casing style was altered. Neither the old nor the new style R4 supports SDHC cards.

    There is a rumor that an SDHC version of the R4 is coming, but nothing concrete has really been announced yet.

    At one point it was thought that a firmware update could possibly add SDHC support to older R4's, but that has proved impossible because the R4's hardware isn't flashable and the latest update (1.12) didn't add the ability like we hoped.

    In short, 2GB is the MAX size you should look for in a microSD for the R4. Kingston (Japan) is the recommended card of choice for a 2GB.
     
  16. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hehe, discusses already whilst you were replying, Rayder [​IMG]
     
  17. mo_j90
    OP

    Newcomer mo_j90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh ok i understand it now, thanx to evryone who helped. ill probly be getting a 2gb sd card soon.
     

Share This Page