Hacking What's the best way to play Mario 64 on wiiu?

Dan-the-Rebirth

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
541
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
1,546
Country
Australia
Hey after playing Odyssey I want to replay SM64 SM64 DS but I want the best graphics/resolution / textures I can get so what are my options?
 

wolf-snake

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,561
Trophies
2
XP
3,065
Country
Mexico
Hey after playing Odyssey I want to replay SM64 SM64 DS but I want the best graphics/resolution / textures I can get so what are my options?
The Virtual Console releases are fine, people say n64 games are too dark on the Wii U but they have always been too dark, even in the original hardware.
 

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,811
Trophies
3
Age
24
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
10,722
Country
Hungary
Texture patches? Changing the rendering resolution?
Texture patches are done by injecting a patched ROM. There's an option for the DS VC to double the internal resolution (you can find it in the config file), but keep in mind that when you exit, your console will black screen and you have to force restart it.
Also, AFAIK to use any of these options, you have to use Loadiine. I might be wrong on that, thpugh.
 

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
10,225
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
16,332
Country
United Kingdom
Texture patches are done by injecting a patched ROM. There's an option for the DS VC to double the internal resolution (you can find it in the config file), but keep in mind that when you exit, your console will black screen and you have to force restart it.
Also, AFAIK to use any of these options, you have to use Loadiine. I might be wrong on that, thpugh.
No you can also install them to usb or nand and they will still work. I have resident evil ds with 2x textures enabled installed to nand and it works perfectly fine apart from the black sceen when exiting issue lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: smileyhead

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,811
Trophies
3
Age
24
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
10,722
Country
Hungary
No you can also install them to usb or nand and they will still work. I have resident evil ds with 2x textures enabled installed to nand and it works perfectly fine apart from the black sceen when exiting issue lol
Even better.
 

wolf-snake

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,561
Trophies
2
XP
3,065
Country
Mexico
No you can also install them to usb or nand and they will still work. I have resident evil ds with 2x textures enabled installed to nand and it works perfectly fine apart from the black sceen when exiting issue lol
i'll be honest i don't see any difference with 2x enabled on DS games they all just look the same, and the crashing when exiting is a big turn off for me.
 

Dan-the-Rebirth

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
541
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
1,546
Country
Australia
IIRC If you inject the rom into the VC, you can use most patched roms.
Even Roms that don't work on the original hardware? (like the N64 HD mods)

I still don't got any advice what's the best patch/version of Mario 64. I originally finished both N64 and DS. So the shortcomings of the DS controllers don't Matter to me. Only want the best graphics
 

N7Kopper

Lest we forget... what Nazi stood for.
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
1,034
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
1,366
Country
United Kingdom
i'll be honest i don't see any difference with 2x enabled on DS games they all just look the same, and the crashing when exiting is a big turn off for me.
It bumps the internal rendering resolution from 240p to 480p, which is basically useless for sprite-based games, but ones with heavy use of 3D models will look significantly improved. (Doesn't work miracles, though. 480p is still somewhat small at long distances)

Even Roms that don't work on the original hardware? (like the N64 HD mods)
The official N64 emulator doesn't have special features like uncapped RAM - it behaves like the N64 would, barring the lack of emulation of some glitches (not bugs. Bugs are software, glitches are hardware) and the darkening filter designed to mimic the original video output - even though people like me prefer getting native output most of the time (and therefore find games that exploit composite colour dithering very annoying)

No you can also install them to usb or nand and they will still work. I have resident evil ds with 2x textures enabled installed to nand and it works perfectly fine apart from the black sceen when exiting issue lol
You can even buy the game, use FTPiiUEverywhere to modify the config file, and run it without signature patches.
If you are so inclined.
 
Last edited by N7Kopper,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: they could put minigames in it that you play using the pictures you take