Whats the advantage of YSmenu?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by idunnoilikends, Nov 27, 2008.

Nov 27, 2008
  1. idunnoilikends
    OP

    Member idunnoilikends GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    and whats the best way to install it?

    as a firmware or a nds file?
    and how do you install it o.O?
    and can you use the cheat.dat?
     
  2. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    LOL u could have just asked me kid [​IMG]
    just put it on the microsd the same exact way as u would the usual firmware, and yes the usual cheats work with it. the advantage of it, is that a few cheats and games that don't work on the regular 1.18, work with this.
     
  3. idunnoilikends
    OP

    Member idunnoilikends GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    any way to get rid of that annoying black debug screen when booting a game?...
    and my cheat.dat isn't working
     
  4. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    what black debug screen?
    and go here for the latest cheat file, courtesy of narin
    http://cheats.gbatemp.net/
    and dl: 11_23_08_CHEAT.DAT.zip
     
  5. idunnoilikends
    OP

    Member idunnoilikends GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    when i boot a game
    it shows a black screen that says debug and it does some stuffs
     
  6. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    wth? did u try updating to the firmware i suggested?

    edit: woot! 1500th post and 2nd badge [​IMG]
     
  7. idunnoilikends
    OP

    Member idunnoilikends GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    gratz
    [​IMG]

    Well, i got the new r4 firmware.
    but then i wanted to try ysmenu and i tried the one that replaces the whole firmware
    it works but when i started a gasme with ysmenu is went to a debug screen then launched the game
     
  8. tyuno123

    Member tyuno123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Country:
    Malaysia
    whats wrong with the black screen ?
    if your cheat.dat ain't workin then use usrcheat.dat
     
  9. idunnoilikends
    OP

    Member idunnoilikends GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    Well its 2 seconds [​IMG]

    I decided to just go with the r4 firmware + moonshell replacement YSMenu

    Intill a real r4 version comes out o.O!
     
  10. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    a real r4 version won't come out anymore. they're dead. just use the firmware i told u to use.
     
  11. idunnoilikends
    OP

    Member idunnoilikends GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    no i mean a real version of YSMenu for r4.
    I know that r4 isn't supported anymore
     
  12. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    is that even coming out? o.O
     
  13. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, as far as I know YSMenu is just one general firmware for 3 different cards.
     

Share This Page