Hacking What's so good about having Firmware 3.3u?

Lexip;

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
413
Trophies
0
XP
83
Country
United States
Actually 3.2

Twilight Hack no longer works on 4.0. No DVDx installer for 4.0.
Starfall only works on 3.2, I believe preloader is only for 3.2 and 4.0
 

FenrirWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
4,347
Trophies
0
Location
Sandy, UT
XP
601
Country
United States
Before Preloader came alomg there was the 3.2 exclusive Starfall as well. But the biggest reason is that 3.2 has the trucha bug in all IOS versions by default.
 

Link5084

Sword & Shield at your service
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
1,367
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
What exactly is the trucha bug and what's so good about it?

If I install Starfall in 3.2, would it be kept if I updated? How does it compare with Preloader? Is it better than Preloader?
 

FenrirWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
4,347
Trophies
0
Location
Sandy, UT
XP
601
Country
United States
Starfall doesn't offer as good of protection as Preloader, actually. And the Trucha bug, also known as the fakesigning bug, is what allows the Wii to install and use unofficial content like custom channels, custom IOS files (or older versions of official IOS files), modified game discs, and so forth.
 

Link5084

Sword & Shield at your service
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
1,367
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
678
Country
United States
FenrirWolf said:
Starfall doesn't offer as good of protection as Preloader, actually. And the Trucha bug, also known as the fakesigning bug, is what allows the Wii to install and use unofficial content like custom channels, custom IOS files (or older versions of official IOS files), modified game discs, and so forth.

So what you mean is that I can play Brawl+ only on 3.2? All that stuff you mentioned can't be used on 3.3 or higher? Preloader works with 3.2 also right? What does Starfall have that Preloader doesnt have?
 

Sportsmaniac1322

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Location
Forman's Basement
Website
Visit site
XP
266
Country
United States
Link5084 said:
JumpMan3 said:
brawl+ works on any firmware, as long as you have HBC, and geck os

So, what kind of custom channels and modified discs only work with 3.2?
Modified guitar hero and rock band discs need the trucha bug in order to play, but if you use Waninkoko's 4.0 upgrader the trucha bug is preserved. There's really no reason why you shouldn't be on the 4.0 firmware.
 

Edgedancer

Director of Moon based operations
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
2,634
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Canberra
Website
Visit site
XP
483
Country
Sportsmaniac1322 said:
Link5084 said:
JumpMan3 said:
brawl+ works on any firmware, as long as you have HBC, and geck os

So, what kind of custom channels and modified discs only work with 3.2?
Modified guitar hero and rock band discs need the trucha bug in order to play, but if you use Waninkoko's 4.0 upgrader the trucha bug is preserved. There's really no reason why you shouldn't be on the 4.0 firmware.
Booting the game through geekoOS also allows the trucha titles to be played.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    euamotubaina tempBOT: euamotubaina has left the room.