What wrong? (wiikey)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by triassic911, Oct 29, 2007.

Oct 29, 2007

What wrong? (wiikey) by triassic911 at 1:21 AM (1,820 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I recently had a wiikey installed, and could play backups fine. A couple of minutes ago, I flashed my wiikey with the 1.9b update. Now, it won't read ANY discs? It will say "disc cannot be read". How do I fix this? Thanks.
     
  2. d3ltr33

    Newcomer d3ltr33 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    Chuck in the GCOS 1.3 Setup Disc and redo all the settings.
     
  3. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I did, and it also says unable to read disc. It won't read ANYTHING
     
  4. xbandaidx

    Member xbandaidx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    Get the recovery disc from Wiikey site and try again.
     
  5. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    You sure? I mean the website says use ONLY if it was a bad flash. I don't *think* it was a bad flash, since it finished, but I'll try.
     
  6. Hellfenix

    Member Hellfenix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I couldn't read any games until I used the 1.3 setup disc.
     
  7. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    You have a wiikey clone, I don't. I was playing games just fine until I flashed my wiikey with the 1.9b update.
     
  8. IPICADO

    Newcomer IPICADO Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Hi bro., I have the same problem as You and I wanna know if You finally solved your problem and how You did it and share it with us!!! [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance for your answer bro.
     
  9. lordcoxis

    Newcomer lordcoxis Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Angola
    I also had my Wii playing backups just fine. Yesterday I turned it on and it can't read any backups at all (no Wiikey setup discs, nothing), just originals [​IMG] The wii wasn't moved around or anything that could cause the chip to move inside. Is this a recurring trend when using wiikeys?
     
  10. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
  11. lordcoxis

    Newcomer lordcoxis Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Angola
    Thanks, I will try it out later. Is there any technical reason as to why this one will boot and no other backup (even the wiikey flashers/config discs) will? Thanks again.
     
  12. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    I think it's to do with the different areas of the chips.
    They have a 'flash' area where the main firmware is and an 'eeprom' area where basic settings are kept and can be changed ect

    If the eeprom area isn't programmed (many clones come this way) or original wiikeys may be become corrupt, then with the addition of the wii's 3.x firmware, booting even a standard gcos disc is impossible, and a workaround is required... hence the pre-boot discs.
     
  13. lordcoxis

    Newcomer lordcoxis Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Angola
    It didn't work [​IMG] It seems that as soon as I put a backup in the drive it stops reading, whereas it reads originals just fine. Is a Wii fitted with an original Wiikey supposed to run originals if the chip has gone bad?
     

Share This Page