What version PassMe Should I use?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Mchart, Jan 2, 2006.

Jan 2, 2006

What version PassMe Should I use? by Mchart at 5:43 PM (14,272 Views / 1 Likes) 34 replies

  1. Mchart
    OP

    Member Mchart GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    By using this method you can find out your DS's firmware version, thus telling you if you need to purchase a passme or a passme2.

    -CREDITS TO MAHE FROM THE GBADEV.ORG FORUM-

    Original Thread - http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=7961&start=0
     
    Margen67 likes this.


  2. ConraDargo

    Member ConraDargo Flashback Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,764
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    So only if both screens turns either yellow or dark green - PassMe2 is needed? Pretty neat trick, thanks for telling [​IMG]
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  3. Mchart
    OP

    Member Mchart GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    BTW, it would be nice if a mod would sticky this, as this is very useful information.
     
  4. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,217
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Next to the serial number database, this seems really worthy. Sticky plz.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  5. Mchart
    OP

    Member Mchart GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    It's useful because it will make Joey shutup on which version passme he should buy.
     
  6. djgarf

    Former Staff djgarf I Am A Raver

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,955
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England U.K.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    both the screens on my ds turned green (the ds is from the uk mario kart bundle bought on day of release) so i guess a passme1 will be fine [​IMG]

    oh and i will sticky this too

    *edit* seems someone beat me to the sticky [​IMG]
     
  7. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,217
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pffft, and I'm the Pirate King.
     
  8. squirt1000

    Banned squirt1000 Would rather have a cup of Tea!

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    842
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bugger, My UK MK bundle DS spat out the yellow screen [​IMG]
     
  9. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Excellent post!

    That was the question constantly getting asked that I had no real answer for. Thanks for posting.
     
  10. ConraDargo

    Member ConraDargo Flashback Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,764
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Today I flashed a "clean" silver DS, using a SuperPass1, that was showing dark green screens in PictoChat.
     
  11. Menacie

    Newcomer Menacie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I get light blue screens?
     
  12. Beanz

    Newcomer Beanz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Brum
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks been looking for some way to tell firmware version before i go out and spend money on the hardware.

    Typically though mines a UK silver DS with the NEM ****** serial (bad sign already) and the screens went yellow [​IMG] so its looks like i'm going to hold out for a UK suplier of PassMe2.

    Thanks again.
     
  13. camx

    Member camx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    colorado USA
    Country:
    United States
    sorry to bother anyone. but for some reason i'm considering a passme for my DS purchased oh, the week it was released.

    i have two EZFA 256 carts, the red ones with the white linker that uses the GBA link port to interface with PC USB. i only explain that because this card at one time was very popular and now i really dont see many people (aside from madbob) talk about it. i dont care about playing commercial DS games at all, frankly i plan on buying as many games as i can. i want to do the homebrew stuff, run emulators, etc. if i cant use this cart with a passme i dont want to bother, so can anyone confirm or deny that the EZFA 256 works this way? thanks!!!!
     
  14. Dhaos033

    Newcomer Dhaos033 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Wow thats pretty neat. What is strange is that I get the dark blue/grayish screen, but i just bought my DS a week ago. I guess Best Buy still had some left over from a long time ago?
     
  15. ConraDargo

    Member ConraDargo Flashback Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,764
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes there are still some old silver consoles left on the market, nothing too strange about that.
     
  16. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A little off-topic, but according to the list on the passme website the EZFA-128 works with passme, so I'd assume the 256 does as well (...at least I hope it does)

    Source: http://www.dspassme.com/docs/html/pm_07_flashcarts.html
     
  17. chushev

    Newcomer chushev Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    What are the odds for a FW4 silver DS if i buy a refurbished one from the US?


    Edit: And yet another quiestion. I found a deal here that offers a "Pre-Modified FlashMe Firmware" DS. Does this mean that i don't nead a PassMe device but just a SuperCard (for instance) to run any hombrew/roms?
     
  18. skywarp

    Member skywarp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that's what it means. Althou a few carts have higher compatibility running through a passme than with flashme, IE EZ3.
     
  19. Mchart
    OP

    Member Mchart GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    Don't buy from aheadgames. Check out their rating on reseller ratings.
     
  20. camx

    Member camx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    colorado USA
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i saw that thanks though Psyfira. problem is the cards have always been confusing, so i never really know if they mean the true EZFA or a knock off name shifted one. i'm going ahead with the superpass i guess, its inexpensive and i guess if it doesnt work i'll go ahead with a 1g cart just for grins.
     

Share This Page

Loading...