Hacking What made the R4 the most popular flashcart?

Link5084

Sword & Shield at your service
OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
When you hear the words "DS Flashcart", you immediately think "R4". How did it become so mainstream and pretty much the only flashcart that is really popular?

HeatMan Advance

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Easy to use, cheap and a simple name to remember.

It was the most accessible cart to complete novices. All they had to do was transfer a file to it and nothing else. It used one slot blah, blah, blah....

It just played games with no complications. Simple. That was all.

roguetrip

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
It was one of the first good Slot 1 flashcarts that used micro sd, you didn't have to have a slot 2 solution with a slot1 passme card. It was easy to use as well at very good compatibility with backup ROMs. At that time when it was new no one had working download play or multi-cart play, the R4 was one of the first to add support. Cost was another factor, I bought mine not long after it was out for around $25, very cheap compared to others which went from $50 to over 100!.

Tri3dgE

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
See long before, in ancient past...A hero came out in a flash, flashing your DS through games and brew, it slowly gained fame and became renewed...

Awwww!!!Enough with the Shakespear stuff and I'll say it!

Because the R4 "was" the only available flash cart at that time

Dark^'^Knigh

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
LuOmeoga said:
It was cheap and easy.
Reminds me of a girl I once knew...but, I wouldn't poke her with your's now! Not too unsimilar to how the R4 performs these days.
blink.gif

Tri3dgE

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
gratefulbuddy said:
Tri3dgE said:

?DSX?

That is why I hyphenated the word "was", meaning that in some countries such as in mine, only the R4 is available at that time. Still sucks though since the choice here is either R4 or EDGE
wacko.gif

EmperorOfCanada