What kind of MicroSD does CycloDS run on?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by frantier123, Nov 16, 2008.

Nov 16, 2008
  1. frantier123
    OP

    Member frantier123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Singapore
    I was intending to buy a CycloDS but I just want to clarify some of my doubts on which microSD card is suitable to run on CycloDS before I purchase it.

    I had a 2GB MicroSD Class 4 from Kingston, and I just wan to ask if that can work on CycloDS.

    Also, can other classes of MicroSD works on CycloDS?



    P/S: Sorry if wrong section =.=
     
  2. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    Your current card will work with the cyclods. The cyclods can use any microsdhc card in any class. If you have the money you might want to go for class6:(for faster speed).
     
  3. frantier123
    OP

    Member frantier123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Singapore
    Oh i see. Thanks. Looks like I can get it straightaway.
     
  4. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    I didn't know 1GB and 2GB MicroSDs had different classes. [​IMG]
     
  5. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    It uses which ever microsd you have in the CycloDS (Straight forward answer >_>)
     
  6. frantier123
    OP

    Member frantier123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Singapore
    Nah. SDHC all has classes dun dey? [​IMG]
     
  7. Priss

    Member Priss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    -Correct. All SD cards have the same base technology. It is their quality in build that makes the marginal difference in read speeds.
    -On the other hand. SDHC was introduced with Speed Class Ratings of 2-4-6 represented in MB/s. It is suggested that these class
    are the minimum at which they should be running. [​IMG]

    Keep in mind that 4GB cards or higher only are SDHC titled thus making the first quote inaccurate.
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Only cards that are 4GB and up are SDHC. Non-HC SD cards don't have standardized speed classes.
     
  9. frantier123
    OP

    Member frantier123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Singapore
    Oh. Then I guess mine had to be 4GB, cos when I bought, the storekeeper told me "R4SDHC + SDHC MicroSD = SGD 56" o0?
     
  10. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah it's probably a 4GB MicroSDHC.

    And R4SDHC is a fake card by the way.
     

Share This Page