What kind of Memory does the Wii use

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Tozarian, May 17, 2008.

May 17, 2008
  1. Tozarian
    OP

    Member Tozarian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    I know it uses "Blocks" but does it have a hard drive or flash memory? If so how much space (in bytes) is available.
     
  2. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I know it's NAND Flash Memory.
     
  3. Tozarian
    OP

    Member Tozarian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks. I didnt think it was a hard drive in the first place. I'm still trying to figure out the blocks.
     
  4. phaerun

    Member phaerun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Αθήνα
    Country:
    Greece
    512 MB flash memory.
     
  5. Tozarian
    OP

    Member Tozarian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks.

    EDIT: 1GB=7742 blocks
     
  6. voodoolady

    Newcomer voodoolady Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Brazil
    I wish they would just use Mb instead of blocks. It´s a lot more natural to most of us. I really didn´t want to have to remember one more conversion rate...
     
  7. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    You're not suppose to "convert", as it's not intended for the stuff it's being used for now. Everything that the Wii uses (Wii Store, save listings, etc) are all listed in blocks, so it's more simplistic. The pirates just made it more complicated. [​IMG]
     
  8. malsuk

    Member malsuk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    agreed lol [​IMG]
     
  9. Tozarian
    OP

    Member Tozarian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    But if you want more memory the SD card you buy will be listed in bytes and not "blocks". So it is sorta useful to know a GB is around 7000 blocks.
     

Share This Page