What is the real difference between AKAIO and the official firmware

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Dark X, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. Dark X
    OP

    Newcomer Dark X Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    Seriously, what is the real difference between them?

    As for my opinion, I think both of them are the same.
    In fact, I think the official firmware is the best, because it's official from AceKard Team, and I didn't heard any problems from it.

    But AKAIO,
    First, it's not official (I don't have any idea who made it)
    Second, sometimes I heard some problems comes from it.



    So, what do you think?
     


  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  3. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    You say you've heard problems but have you actually tried the two different OS software?
    I've had AKAIO working with no problems at all
     
  4. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    yeah.. the only main problem is USER ERROR which causes lots of unnecessary reports
    in terms of game compatibility it is the best!

    you are the first who say the official firmware is the best
    then just stick to official firmware [​IMG]
     
  5. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    It's better thats all you need to know. [​IMG]
     
  6. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Original firmware the best because it's from the Acekard team? Where is the logic in that? I think you're an idiot. [​IMG]

    You haven't heard any problems from using the the original f/w because NOBODY uses it. If you think it's the best then go right ahead and use it.
     
  7. xshinox

    Member xshinox GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    965
    Country:
    United States
    the creators of AKAIO made their firmware better than official so how can official be better when someone else is making a firmware better than official?
     
  8. lithium210

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    tc is probably a troll.. its funny when a tc complains then never replies to anything they brought up in the first place.
     
  9. Dark X
    OP

    Newcomer Dark X Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    To Kobykaan:
    Of course I read the wiki but I didn't saw any difference between them, and I think all the features are also existed in the Official Firmware.

    To Phoenixclaws:
    Yes I tried both of them when I had my AK2 on my DS lite, but still I didn't notice any difference between them.

    To Zero383:
    Please be Polite when you speak, I respect your opinion, so please respect mine.
    And what is your reason for prefering the AKAIO?
    You didn't tell me the reason because you don't have one, you want to believe that "AKAIO is the best" because everyone said AKAIO is the best, am I right?

    To Xshinox:
    I don't know, he's just wasting his time for creating this AKAIO, because still there is no difference between them.

    To Lithium210:
    who's tc?
     
  10. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    TC = topic creator I believe.

    If you don't like it don't use it. ....
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    akaio is faster than the official
    akaio has quicker directory scrolling
    akaio has more features than the official
    akaio has a rewritten cheat engine
    akaio features 2 dma modes which have been rewritten countless times to improve performance and compatibility
    akaio 1.5 will feature custom gba frames
    akaio is updated (coded) daily, the official is updated to fix rom loader issues
    the official is never rewritten, improved upon, etc. only games fixes are released. its the same slow firmware that it was a year ago...
    every recent rom fix on the official came from the akaio devs
    akaio features external loaders, no need to update the entire firmware
    akaio features rewritten and updated 3in1, f2a support for gba expanison packs
    akaio features the "tab" menu view, the official does not.
    akaio is well documented via the wiki, the official has very little documentation.
    akaio devs can be found in #acekard on the gbatemp irc network, the official team takes months to return an e-mail.
    akaio has much higher compatibility than the official.
    akaio supports the ak2/ak2.1/ak2i/ak r.p.g./ak+ the official only supports either ak2 or rpg (akaio = acekard all in one)
    official rpg support is no longer updated.

    you really should not need more reasons. if you are still using the official than it is your loss. but its a free internet (except for australia) so do as you wish.

    -another world
     
  12. Archerz

    Newcomer Archerz Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Kettering
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well i have to say that i love AKAIO firmware it looks and feels better to use for me i was using the official firmware from when i got my acecard2i and liked it but most games where not working so i went to AKAIO and im not looking back but we have to now [​IMG] unless a new update comes out ^^
     
  13. Maedhros

    Member Maedhros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    897
    Country:
    Brazil
    No you didn't, if you have readed it, you would have your mind settled.
    There's a LOT of things that the official firmware does not have.

    But, hey... if you like the official over the AKAIO, just stick with the officia one then.
     
  14. Dark X
    OP

    Newcomer Dark X Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    Thank you very much for the info, Another World.
    I think I got what I need to know about the AKAIO, I only made the topic to know why the AKAIO is better than the official firmware, that's all.

    I will think a lot about replacing the OF with AKAIO.
     
  15. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i've done extensive testing between the two. there is a reason i support norm and smiths. there is a reason i helped write more than half of the wiki. akaio is a better firmware. i hope you make the switch.

    cheers,
    -another world
     
  16. jruschme

    Newcomer jruschme Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Just curious, but what does that one mean and why is it so important?

    John
     
  17. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    GBA Frames became important to some people because of the black border around GBA games on the NDS.
    I've seen a number of these GBA frames come out lately to "fill out" the area that isn't used because of the aspect? ratio of the GBA game on the NDS.
     
  18. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    right and with 1.5 you can assign a gba frame to a retail rom so that 1 frame always loads with that 1 rom. this way you can have multiple custom frames.

    -another world
     
  19. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Huh...doesn't the DS boot in GBA mode? How does the DS access the extra resolution then?
     
  20. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    The ds starts in ds mode with full resolution. Look at the screens when you start up the ds. You will see both are at max resolution with no borders. When the ds boots up a gba rom the more advanced ds video hardware emulates the gba screen on a ds screen. The gba screen is kept at the original resolution to keep the aspect ratio of the gba game.
     

Share This Page