what is the main reason why people use flashme?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by kobe_24, Apr 15, 2007.

Apr 15, 2007
  1. kobe_24
    OP

    Newcomer kobe_24 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    okay hi guys. im new to this forum as well as the ds community.

    well there are so many topics that relate to flashme

    what exactly is flashme and what does it do?

    if you recommend "flashme" can you provide links that will help me be successful on using flash me.

    thank you.
     
  2. htoxad

    Member htoxad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    United States
    Flashme is essentially hacking your DS to think it always has a PassMe in it.
    Before the NoPass, the PassMe cards all required a second DS card plugged into it (think gameshark for cart based systems) so they were quite cumbersome.
    If you have a slot 1 card (other than one shitty card that I forget the name of) it is also a NoPass device and there's not much of a use for FlashMe.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flashme
     
  3. GexX2

    Member GexX2 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Tennesee, US
    Country:
    United States
    Thats not flashme's only use :\

    Nopass cards are cumbersome as well. Flashme lets you use a slot 2 card without the need for a nopass, so you can free up your slot 1 slot for other things. If you don't have a slot 2 card, flashme isn't necessary obviously.

    You can also give your friends flashme for perfect download play compatibility with them [​IMG]

    I did it to my friends ds so we could download play and multiplayer and stuff.
     
  4. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    also, if you know people with flash carts, you can download play all games from them, even if they aren't using the real cartridge.
     
  5. kobe_24
    OP

    Newcomer kobe_24 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the reply.

    so what your basically saying is that since i have an R4..

    i dont need flashme?
     
  6. GexX2

    Member GexX2 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Tennesee, US
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly. R4 can act as a nopass for any slot 2 devices. So flashme is useless for you.
     
  7. kobe_24
    OP

    Newcomer kobe_24 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    thank you guys for the help.
     
  8. Knab

    Member Knab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    United States
    i have flashme on it for bricker protection, better safe then sorry, and i hate those warning screens.
     
  9. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Even if you use R4, FlashME is still a good idea:
    - it removes RSA
    - it removes the HW screen
    - it adds recovery mode (though it's obsolete and requires a SLOT-2 card)
     
  10. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    when your ds bricks it doesnt write over the first section(512 bytes of the memory because that part can only be acsessed by bridging SL1(the 2 semi circles). so if your ds bricks and its been flashed you can can just reinstall it if its been bricked
     
  11. Qwhacker

    Newcomer Qwhacker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada

    Hey, sorry if this is a stupid question, but what do you mean by it removes RSA? and i assume HW screen is that health warning thing?
     
  12. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    RSA is a protection used in DS' wireless protocol. A DS with no FlashME usually can't play DS Download Play games as guest, if the host DS is using a backup (since backups need patching and patching destroys the encryption in the game).
    And yes, you assume right. [​IMG]
     
  13. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,743
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    RSA is the download play signing, a stock ds does not run unsigned code.

    HW is the health screen although you can leave it (this is the so called stealth version).

    Two other points arise though

    flashme is not the only modded firmware, search for creebome and fwnitro for starters but bear in mind those are still in heavy development.

    old style DSs if they are newer models of them can have multiple settings on backlights, just use the newest version of flashme, here is cory1492's mirror:
    http://l33t.spod.org/~cory1492/FlashMeV7-Apr-18-2006.zip

    If you want to unflash a lite search for the updated noflashme, I have no link offhand though.
     
  14. xbman

    Member xbman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    With any of the newer slot-1 cards (r4, m3, g6, etc) you really shouldn't need to use flashme. I used it on my original DS when I was using a supercard. I also have a passme 2 which I only used once to run flashme. The main reason to use it is if you are using a slot-2 solution and don't want to have a passme/passkey/etc in slot-1.
     

Share This Page