What is the difference between FAT16 and FAT32

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by wezlyons, Jan 7, 2007.

Jan 7, 2007
  1. wezlyons
    OP

    Newcomer wezlyons Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is probably a daft question but is there any advantage to formatting my micro sd to FAT32 when it is already formatted to FAT16 or should i just leave it as it works fine?
     
  2. gorenut

    Newcomer gorenut Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Now, I don't know the exact differences but I see the majority of the forum members sticking to the 16 over 32. Works for me.. plus I'm a big advocate of "if it ain't broke, why fix it?"
     
  3. nintendofreak

    Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,333
    Location:
    Cal Poly Pomona / (323)
    Country:
    United States
  4. xler8

    Newcomer xler8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    FAT16 = fast.

    "[FAT32] keeps its cluster size low, even on massive hard drives--but it's actually a little slower than FAT16. By using smaller clusters, FAT32 must keep track of more of them on a given partition than FAT16. Since FAT tables function basically as linked lists, more entries equates to slower overall performance."

    from http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1157849,00.asp
     
  5. wezlyons
    OP

    Newcomer wezlyons Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies, ill just leave it as it is then
     
  6. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, but why do I get less freezes on Portrait of Ruin with FAT32 than FAT16?
     
  7. tw8e60

    Newcomer tw8e60 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    For me FAT 32 + cluster of 8192 is the only way of NO FREEZE on Castlevania PoR. 100% no Freeze. Hope it helps someone.
     
  8. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Which MicroSD card do you have?
     
  9. tw8e60

    Newcomer tw8e60 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Kingstone 1 GB Japan Brand. But only Fat 32 worked for me.... not Fat 16. Again this is using cluster 8192. Only Fat 32 + cluster 8192 = NO FREEZE.

    SanDisk (1Gb) didn't work with any combination.
     
  10. xler8

    Newcomer xler8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks for the info. Any chance you could update the wiki with info on your card? There are a couple Kingston cards there that could be yours.
     
  11. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    I got fewer freezes on my SanDisk 1G using FAT32 default rather than FAT16 64k
     
  12. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    FAT32 with a Kingston 1GB (SD-C10G JAPAN). Haven't had any problems whatsoever. I didn't try FAT. As soon as I got it, I went with FAT32.
     
  13. jibaro

    Newcomer jibaro Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Puerto Rico

    This is really interesting information, but how do you apply the 8192 cluster. When I try to format my 1 GB Micro SD R-Data I only get the default allocaton size option. Did you use any special tools to format?

    Thank you for your time.
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You have to format from the disk management thingy to get options for that option.

    Start -> run -> diskmgmt.msc
    or...
    Control panel -> administrative tools -> computer management -> storage -> disk management
     
  15. Malleus

    Newcomer Malleus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Sweden
    or use Start -> run > cmd
    to get command prompt and use the command FORMAT /L:8192 /FS:FAT32 X:
    where X is your sd cards drive letter... also I have a Kingston 1GB (SD-C10G JAPAN) too and I didnt format it before using it and had random hangs in many games, going to try reformatting now and see if it helps..
    (using 1.05, going to update to 1.06b while Im at it..)
     
  16. Firon

    Member Firon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    FAT32 16k gave me no freezes with PoR (apart from 2 freezes because of actual bugs in the game).
     
  17. StuKeeler

    Newcomer StuKeeler Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Sandisk (Taiwan) 1GB card.

    Out of curiousity, I benchmarked it's speed on different formats (FAT16/FAT32/different cluster sizes) and found no marked difference between them.

    I now use FAT32, default cluster.
     

Share This Page