Hardware What is the capacitor value on top of Nintendo Switch APU?

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,442
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,420
Country
Brazil
Hello all!
Does anyone know what is the value for the capacitors on top of the Nintendo Switch APU for both the normal (V1, V2) and Lite?
I suppose they are the same value for all of these versions, or at least the same for Marikos.
IMG_20200808_204751026.jpg

Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: zvonko

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,442
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,420
Country
Brazil
interested in this :(
Hey!
My buddy @Modificatorul told me some time ago but I forgot "closing" this thread! Sorry!

Here it is, mate!
ceramic capacitor 1uf 20% (0201 packaging/size)

They are the same for Eristas and Marikos, BTW!

Cheers!
 

fan2k20

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
30
Country
Spain
Hey!
My buddy @Modificatorul told me some time ago but I forgot "closing" this thread! Sorry!

Here it is, mate!
ceramic capacitor 1uf 20% (0201 packaging/size)

They are the same for Eristas and Marikos, BTW!

Cheers!
ceramic capacitor 1uf 20% 10V?
can you please send me a link? There is many differents :(
Did you fixed yours?
Thank you!!!! ;)
 
Last edited by fan2k20,

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,442
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,420
Country
Brazil

dwurv

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
31
Country
Netherlands
Hi there!

In this post I see 1UF 10v 20% but the aliexpress link is 1UF 6.3V 20%. I also see 10% sometimes around the forum.... So which one is the right one to order :)

Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: zvonko

Mr_Twii

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2020
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
41
Country
Lithuania
As far as i know it should be 1UF 20% 6.3V 0201 ceramic capacitor ( well for points SP1 and SP2 sx core instal points)

I have one of it damaged but switch still works planning to replace it, i found a row of it on iphone 5c pcb ( i have a spare one for part so i'll use it )
view
 

Attachments

  • 00539BC1-ABE9-40D3-AA51-4A623590C944.jpeg
    00539BC1-ABE9-40D3-AA51-4A623590C944.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 331
Last edited by Mr_Twii,
  • Like
Reactions: zvonko

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,442
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,420
Country
Brazil
how would one weld this back on ? with a hot air gun ?
Well, I've been using a hot air station... I dunno if a gun will have enough heat to solder it...
I clean it up real good with IPA, re-tin with "normal" solder, apply a good flux then pre-heat the APU with a hot air station and, when the solder is shiny I apply the cap.
To finalize I inspect it with and, if needed, touch the tip of my solder iron with a little bit of solder. Whenever you're doing it, either with a hot air or the iron, use flux!

It's fairly easy!

PS: when I say "clean it real good" I reeeally mean it! Do not let any thermal paste in the APU as it will prevent a good solder, cause a real mess and, potentially, cause the APU to overheat, burn or whatever... It conducts heat, hence the name "thermal" paste! :D :P
 
Last edited by mvmiranda,
  • Like
Reactions: zvonko

de9ed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
249
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
710
Country
Canada
Well, I've been using a hot air station... I dunno if a gun will have enough heat to solder it...
I clean it up real good with IPA, re-tin with "normal" solder, apply a good flux then pre-heat the APU with a hot air station and, when the solder is shiny I apply the cap.
To finalize I inspect it with and, if needed, touch the tip of my solder iron with a little bit of solder. Whenever you're doing it, either with a hot air or the iron, use flux!

It's fairly easy!

PS: when I say "clean it real good" I reeeally mean it! Do not let any thermal paste in the APU as it will prevent a good solder, cause a real mess and, potentially, cause the APU to overheat, burn or whatever... It conducts heat, hence the name "thermal" paste! :D :P

Thanks for the reply, I meant the hot air station. Any recommendation or any Chinese one work?

I just recently picked up micro soldering as a hobby, thanks for all the tips :)
 

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,442
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,420
Country
Brazil
Thanks for the reply, I meant the hot air station. Any recommendation or any Chinese one work?

I just recently picked up micro soldering as a hobby, thanks for all the tips :)
Any good one will suffice!
I've been using YaXun (Chinese) for almost 7 years now without a problem. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: zvonko and de9ed

zvonko

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
19
Country
Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
i have the simular problem but the capacitor next to sp2 is mising for me.Are dey all same vule

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

i have the simular problem but the capacitor next to sp2 is mising for me.Are dey all same vule
 
  • Like
Reactions: mvmiranda

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,442
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,420
Country
Brazil
  • Like
Reactions: zvonko

Hongtm77

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
205
Country
Malaysia
Hey guys, I'm having the same problem. The 1st time I soldered everything on my switch lite and I got red LED. Then I tried to de-soldered everything and re-solder.

Then I accidentally pulled out both SP1 & SP2 caps while de-soldering. 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

Afterthat I soldered the chip on the board directly without the SP1 & SP2 caps and it works perfectly. I'm able to boot hekate and CFW.

My question is, will it be a problem in the long run without those caps?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtube.com/shorts/gsT4LItG_kU?feature=share Serious George