Homebrew what is the 3ds spider injections capable of?

zbw2000

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
351
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
United States
There has been alot going in in the past few months with the 3ds involving injecting stuff with the web browser. The problem is though is that it's kind of spread out across the fourms and can be hard to find. So I am starting this thread to try and gather it all together in one place.

Also would it be possible to inject homebrew? It seems like the web browser can be used to inject alot more than it is being used for now but then again i have almost no idea what it can do.

So just leave a reply to this to gather everything up to see where we are with this.

Thanks!
 

mid-kid

GBAtemp spamBOT
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,152
Country
Depends on the system version. On 9.2 and lower you can do anything with it, just look at gateway.
On 9.3+ you have access to the RAM of the currently running application, which can be modified.
At least, that's what has been discovered lately. You never know.

And yes, the browser can be used to load homebrew, albeit very limited (there's only a tetris homebrew working, no sound, no 3d, no touch, no circle pad), and only on 9.2 or lower. For more permissions, you need to gain them (again, gateway did that), but nobody knows how and it's not easy. And technically, the code.bin and the javascript run to trigger the exploit are also homebrew.
 

WeedZ

Possibly an Enlightened Being
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
3,761
Trophies
1
Location
The State of Denial
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
5,193
Country
United States
Depends on the system version. On 9.2 and lower you can do anything with it, just look at gateway.
On 9.3+ you have access to the RAM of the currently running application, which can be modified.
At least, that's what has been discovered lately. You never know.

And yes, the browser can be used to load homebrew, albeit very limited (there's only a tetris homebrew working, no sound, no 3d, no touch, no circle pad), and only on 9.2 or lower. For more permissions, you need to gain them (again, gateway did that), but nobody knows how and it's not easy. And technically, the code.bin and the javascript run to trigger the exploit are also homebrew.
Yes we do. you launch a fw flasher in spider to downgrade to 4.x which has more permissions. GW homebrew isn't running from 9.2.
 

Korma

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
54
Trophies
0
XP
1,084
Country
United States
Depends on the system version. On 9.2 and lower you can do anything with it, just look at gateway.
On 9.3+ you have access to the RAM of the currently running application, which can be modified.
At least, that's what has been discovered lately. You never know.
So if we have access to the RAM, is it possible to create a memory viewer/editor similar to those in the PSP scene or Cheat Engine?
 

mid-kid

GBAtemp spamBOT
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,152
Country
So if we have access to the RAM, is it possible to create a memory viewer/editor similar to those in the PSP scene or Cheat Engine?

We already have RAM editors, but just in code. Look at the MK7 unlock thingy and the pokemon injector.
For a cheatengine-like thing, since we have access to the SD card and RAM, I would say, essentially, yes.
But practically, since we have no touch screen, and some other limitations of which I am not sure about because I haven't really studied it, so someone else will have to fill me in, no.
 

Ismaw34

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
100
Trophies
0
XP
241
Country
The thing is, we could attach any code.bin to an app and run the homebrew launcher.
It could be made, isnt it?
 

mid-kid

GBAtemp spamBOT
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
1,152
Country
The thing is, we could attach any code.bin to an app and run the homebrew launcher.
It could be made, isnt it?

Yes, but which app, and how? All apps run in userspace and most don't have enough permissions to be useful.
There's been a whole thread about this, you're not the first who's ever thought about it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ismaw34

exelix11

Developer
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
2,940
Country
Italy
Regarding permissions, i thought that ninjhax had the same permission of the other games.
Also i read somewhere that the browser has access only a part of the ram not to the full memory, i think this is the real problem
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Maq47 @ Maq47: @BORTZ sorry, not sorry. xD https://i.imgur.com/C0IOqpt.png