What is maximum radius of using WiFi in NDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by azotyp, Dec 1, 2007.

Dec 1, 2007
  1. azotyp
    OP

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    I would like to know what is maximum range of using WiFi in NDS (in meters please if somebody know).
    Im interrested in signal out of ds maximum range , because in my neighbourhood there will be free hotspot,
    propably it's range will come to my block , but I dont know will I be able to send Wifi signal to use internet,
    because im little bit far from place where hotspot will be instaled. So if someone know how far (in meters)
    DS can spread his signal via wifi, i would appriciate to hear an answer to my question.
     
  2. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    10-15 for me.
    I use D-link DSL-2640T
     
  3. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    well, i think it depends on the hotspot

    i can go about 50m away outside and use internet, and i can also go upstairs and play my ds, but its probably because i have a quite good router

    you should test it out yourself to know the max
     
  4. azotyp
    OP

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    Is it possible, that hotspot will acquire somehow signal from my ds, so i could use net from more than 10-15 meters ?
    (there will be big antena with that hotspot, because it will be on church, but it's range will be 500 m , but i dont know, maybe big proffesional hotspot can acquire signal from my ds from further than couple of meters, because i live like 300-400 meters from place where hotspot will be).
     
  5. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh god, no the DS wont be able to send a signal 300M
    You know the DS have to send it TO the antenna too, and that signal wont be strong enough to go all the way there, maybe you could get some weak contact at a distance of 100M, and that would be if you would have pointed the DS directly against the antenna without any obstacles

    (as far as I know, correct me if i'm wrong..)
     
  6. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    DS use 802.11b
     
  7. azotyp
    OP

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
  8. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, the DS wifi isn't very far. At first I thought I could chain the DS to DS connection too. >_>
     
  9. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Receiving: Unlimited - Depends on how "good" the signal is. The DS is a receiver, does not need to broadcast it's own signal.

    Ad-hoc: about 10 meters. Send and Receive.
     
  10. azotyp
    OP

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    so when i enter google or check my email i just recieve ?
    (please dont kill me if I said something stupid now)
     
  11. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Umm... sigh... basically...

    The DS acts as a Wireless signal reciever.

    EX:

    Router A:
    Range:
    |-----------------------------|
    is the location where it needs to be to be able to access the internet.

    Router B:
    |--------------------------------------------------------|
    is location of the DS that needs to be able to access the internet.

    Basically: The range of the Wifi is dependent on the range of the router. So if the hotspot can reach your house, then your DS can reach the internet.

    The DS is not broadcasting it's "own" signal which is used "only" for Ad-hoc.

    EDIT: Also, you have to be sure of signal quality, the farther you are from the hotspot the laggier it will be AND/OR the DS might refuse to find the signal if it's too weak.
    EDIT2: http://computer.howstuffworks.com/wireless-network.htm - How Wifi works.
     
  12. nephdj

    Member nephdj GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Country:
    Australia
    DS is only about 20metre's in sight

    If only DS used radio waves, then we could hack it and have 1km insight
     
  13. azotyp
    OP

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    Thanks alot guys i will check it all when they will build the hotspot
     
  14. Ducky

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel

    ........................
    That really makes me think whats the point of making the topic... [​IMG]
     
  15. azotyp
    OP

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    Because when i will wait for making hotspot i can be happy thinking there is chance of free net on my ds.
     

Share This Page