What is it that is keeping the Wii from outputing in 720p?!?!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LightyKD, Mar 27, 2009.

  1. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,355
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    In light of recent events with the Dolphin Wii emulator and its ability to display Wii games in 720P I just wanted some expert input. What is keeping the Wii from displaying in 720p?!?! Is it something related to the Wii hardware or is it something software related in which, most hackers care less to try to fix/add? I know that this might sound like a noob question to some but like I said, I'm just trying to get info and to start a healthy conversation [​IMG]

    Milk & Cookies,
    Lightning Kid =[​IMG]=
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm, an emulator can run c64 games in Quad-HD?(that's 2160p)
     
  3. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    I don't believe the hardware is capable of it. The actual place where the cable goes in and output comes out probably can't.

    Or it could be a limitation set by some of the wii firmware (or whatever passes for the firmware in the system) that keeps output from exceeding a certain res. We know it's not simply because no software takes advantage of it, or homebrew would easily be able to use a resolution like that without any issues.


    Dolphin works like any other emulator, the data is processed by the computer and output it rendered through the host machine's hardware. Since all of the wii's 3d hardware is basically emulated on the PC's hardware it can be outputted at any res the PC hardware can do. Just like you can run N64 games at 1080P when their default res is 240i (320x240)
     
  4. Matt93

    Member Matt93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    United States
    The Wii's hardware simply cannot support 720p. Thats over twice the pixels of 480p. You can't compare an emulator to the actual system. Emulators support the highest resolution your PC can handle, as the user above said.

    @koji: The connections are possible since the Wii has component cables.
     
  5. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Example:

    Nintendo 64: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is played at 320x240

    Gamecube: The Legend of Zelda: Collector's Edition (Ocarina of Time): Is played at 640x768

    It is hardware related
     

Share This Page