What is gateway? And what was it meant for)

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by doughmay, Jan 9, 2017.

1. doughmay
    OP

doughmay GBAtemp Regular

Jan 6, 2017
    United States
    The Temp
    Hey! So I'm kind of new to the 3DS hacking scene and I came across a thread about gateway. I know it's a flashcart but I want to know what's special about it, and why it's not very popular anymore..

Sent from my C6725 using Tapatalk

2. zoogie

zoogie simple pimp tool

Nov 30, 2014
    United States
    Hyoretsu likes this.
  3. doughmay
    OP

doughmay GBAtemp Regular

Jan 6, 2017
    United States
    The Temp
    EDIT: I read it, seems like there were a few sacrifices and scandals to get to where we are today, I had no idea any of this happened and it's very interesting to me.

Last edited by doughmay, Jan 9, 2017
    zoogie likes this.
  4. CreAtor135

CreAtor135 GBATemp's #1 Nothing

Jan 10, 2015
    United States
    Ikeb, Ukuro
    Gateway is the company that had the first public method of piracy on the 3DS, and the very first 'CFW' (3DS CFW isn't exactly custom firmware, but more like a series of patches that enable piracy.). They were the first to have a few exploits that have become important today, like firmlaunchhax, and memchunkhax, as well as the first ones to have things like an actual implementation of the MSET bug documented by ichtfly, their Spider browser exploit, MSET Downgrading on N3DS and regular downgrading. emuNAND. These were later reverse-engineered and made public by popular members of the scene.

Stuff like rxTools and Pasta were closely (and loosely) based on Gateway's exploits.

As of late there's no use in having the cart due to free open source CFW becoming just as capable as them, and people hate them as a company because they bricked companies that tried to clone their work and sell it. This once affected legitimate Gateway owners, but ever since it's made its return, there haven't been any reports of this.