What init fails: 0(1) mean? Sdcard info Hekate

Perrito123

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
93
Country
Argentina
I have a switch Mariko V2 with lexar SD 1tb and 12.1.0 I have all working fine but on hekate sdcard information says init fails :0(1) does someone know what it means?

Btw I did downgrade from 13.0.0 to 12.1.0 because I was getting random black screens after the atmosphere logo

I hope someone can help me. To understand what this picture mean
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211101_203714.jpg
    IMG_20211101_203714.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 45

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/ Professional Blackmailer
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
11,718
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
6,980
Country
United States
It just mean the SD card failed to initialize, meaning either the card is going bad, or the SD card ready in the unit is wonky.
 

Perrito123

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
93
Country
Argentina
It just mean the SD card failed to initialize, meaning either the card is going bad, or the SD card ready in the unit is wonky.
I have tried with another SD card 512gb SanDisk and it says 0 of 0, but the lexar SD card new of 1tb I bought from ali have this from the very beginning, it still working all fine no problems at all regards to functionality, should I worry?
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/ Professional Blackmailer
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
11,718
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
6,980
Country
United States
I have tried with another SD card 512gb SanDisk and it says 0 of 0, but the lexar SD card new of 1tb I bought from ali have this from the very beginning, it still working all fine no problems at all regards to functionality, should I worry?

Well if it is from Ali Express you should be worry, you need to test the card with it being empty with H2testw (windows), F3X (mac) to verify the card is good.
 

Perrito123

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
93
Country
Argentina
Well if it is from Ali Express you should be worry, you need to test the card with it being empty with H2testw (windows), F3X (mac) to verify the card is good.
I did not instead I check the speeds with Hekate and all seemed ok, I mean the card is full and no problems since 5 months ago has been working, it is just that doubt when I see the init fail :0(1)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211015_193610.jpg
    IMG_20211015_193610.jpg
    5.2 MB · Views: 57

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/ Professional Blackmailer
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
11,718
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
6,980
Country
United States
I did not instead I check the speeds with Hekate and all seemed ok, I mean the card is full and no problems since 5 months ago has been working, it is just that doubt when I see the init fail :0(1)

You need to verify the card instead prior to first use.
 

Perrito123

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
93
Country
Argentina
You need to verify the card instead prior to first use.
Ouch too late now :S it is more than 5 months,. Btw init fails: 0(1) what technically mean? If all have been working nicely until now this error could mean that my SD card will die soon? On other hand 12.1.0 and below have been working fabulous for me in emunand, but from 13.0.0 above I may get random blackcreens after atmosphere logo, so for example I can boot 3 times of 5, I really discard it is a SD card problem because when I returned to 12.1.0 all worked fine again, just asking because of curiosity thanks
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/ Professional Blackmailer
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
11,718
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
6,980
Country
United States
It mean you have encountered the card failed to initialize when you load up hekate. What you on fat32 or exfat?
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,827
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,804
Country
United States
Ouch too late now :S it is more than 5 months,. Btw init fails: 0(1) what technically mean? If all have been working nicely until now this error could mean that my SD card will die soon? On other hand 12.1.0 and below have been working fabulous for me in emunand, but from 13.0.0 above I may get random blackcreens after atmosphere logo, so for example I can boot 3 times of 5, I really discard it is a SD card problem because when I returned to 12.1.0 all worked fine again, just asking because of curiosity thanks
You should still check the validity of the SD card with FakeFlashTest.
 

Djakku

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
741
Country
United Kingdom
It could also be the sd card reader itself that is dying out. I've had a similar iasue ans replaced the sdcard reader of the switch. Hopefully it's just a bad sdcard but don't rule out hardware issue. My suggestion would be to test with a decent sd card and see if the issue persist. If it does, then replace the sdcard reader kn you switch.
 

Perrito123

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
93
Country
Argentina
It could also be the sd card reader itself that is dying out. I've had a similar iasue ans replaced the sdcard reader of the switch. Hopefully it's just a bad sdcard but don't rule out hardware issue. My suggestion would be to test with a decent sd card and see if the issue persist. If it does, then replace the sdcard reader kn you switch.
The card has been working week since I bought so maybe better no touch anything?
 

Djakku

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
741
Country
United Kingdom
I can't speak for that. I'm just stating that it might be a hardware issue too.

That why since hekate is great as bootloader because you can't mount the card from the switch without having to remove it everytime.

It's up to you to try with another SD or keep using the old one.

This is an old thread below. Might give you some pointers.

Thread 'Hekate SD failed to init - 256gb SD card *problem UNSOLVED*' https://gbatemp.net/threads/hekate-sd-failed-to-init-256gb-sd-card-problem-unsolved.547574/
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: You always risk it with refurbished but for a 4tb for $25 it was worth it to at least try always...