What has happened to a DS Lite that...

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by oliverbomb, Aug 22, 2009.

Aug 22, 2009
  1. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi, what exactly has happened to a Nintendo DS Lite that won't boot and when booting just turns on and off...

    Searching for a youtube example: Here; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5SDH-fDhvI
    Something like this?


    What happened? Nintendo dude told us that it was caused by a R4, but we said we didn't use one, so we got it for free, but still... What causes this problem?
    =P
     
  2. greenwatch200

    Newcomer greenwatch200 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    It's usually an issue with the firmware that requires it to be reset. Pull out the battery and put it back. After doing that it should work again and you'll have to re-enter your name and set up the date and time like you did when you first got it. That works a lot of the time.

    BTW: Nintendo will tell you anything to discourage you from using a flash cart like R4 or any other. Sometimes a fuse inside your DS will blow and need to be rebridged. The only one that causes that is the N5. The reason the N5 does that is because there is a short by the microSD slot due to a poor manufacturing process in a few of their batches.
     
  3. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So.......... why did I trow her R4 away then, and was i getting a Acecard for her...
     
  4. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    (i bought that cause they kind of told me that the R4 did this, and no-one told me that it was of the battery) darn.. i was thinking about the battery from the beginning...
     
  5. reuven

    Newcomer reuven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    That's a problem with the ribbon cable. I just fixed a DS just like this last week. You need to replace the top screen (costs about $10 with parts from dealextreme).
     
  6. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, the cable running across the top of the top screen can get damaged, (especially with broken hinges) and when it gets damaged the DS won't turn on.
     
  7. joepie91

    Newcomer joepie91 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It isn't necessarily a broken cable... it might also just be a cable that slipped from its connector, I've seen that happen to the DS of a friend of mine very recently... And since it's the top screen that's not powering on, it's probably a ribbon cable in your top screen. Normally you should also check the ribbon cables UNDER the wide ribbon cable from the top screen. I've had this a while ago, it turned out that one of the smaller ribbon cables wasn't connected properly (it slipped from the connector after I re-assembled my DS, I've bought a custom casing) and reconnecting it simply fixed it.
     

Share This Page