what happened to my preloader?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Arendo, Sep 2, 2009.

Sep 2, 2009
  1. Arendo
    OP

    Member Arendo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So, here's the 'complete' story:
    I was at softmod 4.0E, with preloader 0.29 (never knew, untill recently that I had to have bootMII with that [​IMG]), HBC 1.0.1 installed, everything worked fine.
    I got this far using guides by folks of you, and I'm tremendously thankful [​IMG]
    and for such great minds, I've got a mystery to solve! [​IMG]

    After I got this message from Nintendo that there was a new udpate available, I first started wondering about the endless possibilities and whichever might be held inside this new update. After not much effort I found a safe way to update, using waninkoko's updater. Trusting the fellow my WII's life, I updated, regardless of my limited knowledge about the consequences.
    After the update, my WII rebooted and I saw the healthscreen for the first time in a long time... What? I resetted to make sure... Yep... I searched the internet. Hard reboot, hold reset... Healthscreen. I searched, searched, posted an offtopic quick question regarding this, searched and searched - for those who aren't following, preloader just disappeared, or so it seems - and found these possible solutions: I don't know, just don't do anything that could screw with my system; I use NANDcleaner (or whachamacallit?) and remove preloader(is it really that easy?); or just re-install preloader, although this seems hardly the right thing to do [​IMG].

    So, who knows how to not brick my WII and get preloader back?

    I'd be forever grateful [​IMG]
     
  2. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    anytime you upgrade/downgrade the system menu preloader will be removed.

    Just use HBC and reinstall it.
     
  3. soopa

    Member soopa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    re install preloader with the 4.1 hacks from your region
     
  4. Arendo
    OP

    Member Arendo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Netherlands
    really? that easy huh? well, that's nice [​IMG] thank you very much [​IMG] forever grateful! been bugging me for a couple of days now...
     
  5. playingsolitare

    Newcomer playingsolitare Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I have a few questions regarding updates

    1) Why do people use Waninkoko's 4.1 updater instead of the official Nintendo one?
    2) I heard that official Nintendo updates (from your region) can never brick your wii, but it can remove that mods in place. Is this true?
     
  6. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    1] waninkoko's keep your IOS trucha bugged while Nintendo's overwrites them with official IOS's and therefore, blocks the trucha bug which is needed very much.
    2]any update can brick your wii, official or not.
     
  7. playingsolitare

    Newcomer playingsolitare Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm I see. I got my wii (used) only a few weeks ago and modded it right away. Then I updated from 3.3U to 4.1U via Nintendo and everything still worked (games via backup launcher).
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    well then dont worry about anything life is peachy in that case.
     
  9. YellowYoYos

    Member YellowYoYos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    I find this topic quite funny, installed preloader and dont even know what it installs as haha
     
  10. DAREALGUMMY

    Newcomer DAREALGUMMY Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I kinda have the same problem. Had my wii at 4.0U for awhile now but wanted to update since I wanted to use the New internet channel. I'm aware that preloader is gone after I update but when I try to reinstall it....it semi bricks my wii again. It installs so luckily i can get the system menu back, but why cant I not install it again after i downgrade then upgrade again?
     

Share This Page