What GBA Flashcart should I get?

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by FlameTakuya, Apr 23, 2010.

Apr 23, 2010
  1. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    So.... yeah I've recently become owner of a GBM, and been reading the topics on the GBA sections, and I'm not entirely sure what flashcart to buy. (Or where I could get one, in fact)

    From reading all the topics, I've roughly concluded that the EZ Flash IV that uses a MiniSD is the current best choice. Is that correct?

    And was there something about it not being able to run games bigger than 32 mb?

    (If it helps, I already own a DS lite with AK2i and EZflash 3 in 1.... Not that any of them would be able to work on GBM D: )

    Sorry about this, I'm not entirely familiar with the GBA scene.
     


  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If your gonna play any game un-trimmed and bigger than 32MB your going to need a pure NOR flashcart.


    Current left still available:
    EZ-Flash IV
    M3 Perfect lite
    EFA Long cart aka EFA-II (fake)


    Only the last one is a pure NOR flashcart, fake or not.



    Your other choice is to get one from another user in the trade section, since you meet the the requirements.
     
  3. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    Well I guess I could, but since I live so far away the shipping'll probably kill me, so that'll be a last resort...

    Are there any games that are bigger than 32 mb? If not, I'll just get one of the first 2.

    Are there any places online that still sell these?
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
  5. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    Oh wow, those prices on the 2nd and 3rd sites are like waaay out of my budget. I guess I'll be getting an EZ-Flash IV from the first site then. Other than the cart, I only need a mini SD, right? If yes then that should be easy, I've already got one.

    Thanks a lot. [​IMG]
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just pick one up locally for that or you can use a microSD with a miniSD adapter.
     
  7. dajavax

    Member dajavax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Monterrey
    Country:
    Mexico
    i was thinking of getting a supercard minisd as i remember it being the best (i had one and lost it)... the only place i've seen it now is here http://www.ndscardsale.com/product/Super-C...nsparent-Purple it's cheap but i don't know if i should trust that site or even if it's worth getting a gba flash cart...
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It is usable but it is slow. It is mostly NOT recommended to get.

    Somebody is going to probably tell you that it has built in emulators etc, the reality is that those emulators are outdated and you can get better ones from the source.

    Your better off spending the extra money to get the EZ-Flash IV.
     
  9. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hi I'm back again!

    So my EZflash IV arrived. I went on the official website and got the firmware, and dumped it all into the root of my minisd. I also dumped my .gba and .sav files from my 3 in 1 on my DS lite. I tried booting up some of the games, but games like sonic advance have fully completed save files even though my original savefiles were at like, stage 2. Other games like LoZ A link to the past and Golden sun refused to let me save.

    Is there something wrong I'm doing? Anyone knows the correct way to load stuff in? Please help!
     
  10. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Try using the loader. You can't just dump a gba rom onto a slot two
     
  11. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    Okays, thanks for the reply. I'm trying to use the loader, but I'm rather confused. Is there a guide somewhere that explains this thing? Preferably with pictures?
     
  12. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    It's been a while. It's a little confusing but you should be able to get it in a short time.
     
  13. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    Yeah okay so I managed to roughly figure out how to put the games in using the loader, but what about my save files? I tried putting them into the saver folder and renaming/replacing all the older savefiles, but they still refuse to load my saves and give me new games or fully completed games!
     
  14. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    The EZFlash IV and newer slot 2 cards do not support flash and eeprom saves natively (M3 cards do support EEPROM). So the loader clients usually patch the roms to use sram based saving. This works well for many games not including Pokemon games.

    I assume your old saves are from emulators you've been using. I'm unsure if the EZFLASH IV uses a proprietary save type or not. The easiest way to go about reusing your old save is as follows.

    You will have to do this for every game.
    1. In the emulator you are using load your saved games and create savestates for each game.
    2. Have the ezflash client loader patch your roms.
    3. Run these patched roms on your emulator and restore your savestate (created from step 1)
    4. Find a savepoint in the game and save your game.
    5. This save should now be compatible with your EZFlash IV.
    6. Load this save onto your minisd card.

    Try it out and see what happens.
     
  15. FlameTakuya
    OP

    Member FlameTakuya GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Republic of Borginia
    Country:
    Singapore
    Actually, the saves are from my 3 in 1 that I used with my Acekard 2i on my DS lite. So there's no way to create savestates with that...
     
  16. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm so you can't use your 3-in-1 saves on an emulator?
    From what I've read they seem to be raw save files.
     
  17. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The AKAIO gba saves are not compatible. It sticks an extra 16bits for a header. You have to trim that off before you can use it on a EZ-Flash IV.
     
  18. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Where are these 2bytes located? (Top/Middle/Bottom of save file?)
     
  19. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    at the begining of the file. that is why it is called a header.
     
  20. bluebowser31

    Member bluebowser31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    United States
    does anyone have like s pros/cons or feature list of these?

    cus so far the only difference ive seen is price [​IMG]
     

Share This Page