Hacking What Flash card should I use?

hyr00l

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm pretty new to hacking games, I've never actually done a DS of any kind.
I have a 3DS with the new browser update, what card should I buy?
I originally had acekard picked out but after some lurking Supercard looks pretty sexy.
Should I fork up another 20 bucks for it?
And will I have to format my 3DS? I just added 20 e-shop dollars to it, so I'm moderately scared of losing those.
Opinions?
Oh, and I have the American model
smile.gif

The Pi

Lurker
Trophies
XP
Country
The DSTWO, Acekard 2i and R4i Gold (r4ids.cn) are the only (decent) carts that work. I recommend a r4ids.cn over a AK2i, the DSTWO it is worth the extra money. (I own all those carts)

You don't need to format the 3DS.

It's region doesn't matter

s4mid4re

Trophies
Website
v4.gbatemp.net
XP
Country
United States
acekard 2i should be enough if you really don't care about the SuperCard DSTWO's features (Real Time Save/Guide, free cheat, GBA emulator, multimedia support, DS2-exclusive homebrews, etc). Both carts have great team support and game compatibility (although acekard's compatibility update is now all up to the AKAIO team).

The SCDS2 is far more powerful than some other carts due to its built-in CPU (which means that it WILL drain some battery while the extra power is in use).

You will need a DS phat, DS lite or an DSi with firmware less than 1.4.0 (or 1.4.1 if the cart you bought was pre-flashed to work with 1.4.1). Don't do any updating on a 3DS - mostly the SCDS2, as it seems it had some problems on updating on a 1.0 fw 3DS.

You won't need to format your 3DS, but there are rumors that nintendo might ban you from Online gaming if you're using some unofficial software on it. >_>

Deleted member 473940

Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
I am using the DSTwo on the 3DS. Personal preference I guess, since I own almost all flashcarts out there(not the billion R4 varieties).