What exactly is this "Semi-Brick"

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by harrybuttox, May 10, 2008.

May 10, 2008
  1. harrybuttox
    OP

    Member harrybuttox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    I hear about it all the time in other posts. I know what bricking is, but why is this "semi" so the wii is some what functional? Also, what causes it?
     
  2. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It is a regio update brick...
    If you have a PAL wii (or NTSC or JAP) and you instal a NTSC or JAP update
    Your wii will 99.99998% get semi bricked [​IMG]
     
  3. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Semi-brick meaning can't get into the settings, you get a Opera Error.

    The cause is, i think, installing a diffeent region wii update or your wii.

    eg. PAL update on a NTSC console, JPN update on PAL wii etc....


    But sometimes the update can do no harm.
     
  4. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    what games install updates that doesnt do harm?

    GH3?
     
  5. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well a update from a NTSC copy of SSBB didn't do any harm on my PAL Wii.
     
  6. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    not even dup channels?
     
  7. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    not even dup channels.
     
  8. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    maybe you already have the current firmware but the SSBB was just being bitchy?
     
  9. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, i didn't have the current firmware when i got SSBB.

    Stop trying to not believe me
     

Share This Page