What exactly is SWISS?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Aijelsop, Feb 15, 2011.

Feb 15, 2011

What exactly is SWISS? by Aijelsop at 11:35 AM (2,354 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Is it a NGC backup loader, homebrew loader, what? Does it run on the Wii? I'm confused.
     
  2. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, in gamecube mode, since it's gamecube homebrew.

    Try to read the Swiss opening post. Alle features are listed.
     
  3. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, does it boot NGC backups from a USB?

    I have a cMIOS installer but I haven't touched it yet.
     
  4. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No. Only from a SD Gecko or IDE-EXI adapter. (Which can be found here)
     
  5. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    SD Gecko

    $52? I guess I'm not playing backups from Swiss lol
     
  6. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands

    More like $4 at it's max. Site Link you pointed to is a ripoff.
    I have this one. Working great.
     
  7. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! [​IMG]

    So I just install my cMIOS and plug this in with a SD card loaded with a NGC Backup and it will play?
     
  8. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't know how it works with cMIOS on the Wii, since I'm using Swiss on my Gamecube. But basically, yes.
    Also, on my Gamecube, it's required to have any original gamecube disk in the drive. I don't know if this is the case on the Wii in combination with cMIOS.

    Edit:
    \/ Below me was a spam post, which is deleted. Now I feel like being called a spammer, which is not the case. [​IMG]
     
  9. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    ^ Spam much?

    Lol deleted spam message. XD to above edit
     
  10. LufianGuy

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Can anyone please link me to a tutorial? (PM is fine for me too).

    I just bought the SD Adapter from dealextreme and would love to try this on my clean Gamecube.

    Would also like to avoid buying the IDE-EXI Adapter, but will if I need too.

    Thanks!
     
  11. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,828
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Sure.

    Put GC ISOs on a SD Card.
    Connect the SD Card with a SD Gecko (or any EXI-SD-adapter).
    Put the SD Gecko in one of the two memcard slots.
    Install cMIOS.
    Launch swiss with WiiXplorer.
    Win.
     
  12. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you not need a GC game in the drive otherwise you get "lid open" message? I suffered that, and as of yet haven't been able to load the couple of games Ive tried.
     
  13. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,828
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Yes I forgot that. You better put a original disc in the drive. But that's fine. You wont hear the disc spinning since the disc is only required in the boot process.
     
  14. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Wii disks work too. And everyone have a Wii Sports at least [​IMG]
     
  15. LufianGuy

    Member LufianGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    I will be doing this on my clean gamecube and I think you wrote wii instructions.

    I also have many official GC game discs.

    I follow your guide until
    "Install cMIOS & Launch Swiss with WiiXplorer".

    I do also have a wii I could do this with, does this process allow you to play GC games off SD cards on Wii?

    What programs would I need to use Swiss on my GC & Wii?
     
  16. snap_0714

    Newcomer snap_0714 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    this looks really promising. ill try it out. giving me a good ideas how to work around the hard drive. do i need both the sd gecko card and the exi adapter? or the exi adapter would work? using it on a wii
     
  17. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,126
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    [quote='lufianguy')What programs would I need to use Swiss on my GC & Wii?
    I dunno about the gamecube (I think nothing besides swiss). For the wii, get Wiipower's swiss booter and follow the instructions given therein.


    QUOTE(snap_0714]this looks really promising. ill try it out. giving me a good ideas how to work around the hard drive. do i need both the sd gecko card and the exi adapter? or the exi adapter would work? using it on a wii[/quote]
    Just one of those will be fine.
    Of course you'll need an SD-card for the gecko and an IDE hard drive for the exi adapter (unfortunately, pretty much all IDE drives are made for internal use by your PC).
     
  18. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To run this on gamecube you need something to boot homebrew code such as an action replay. I think they're what you use, or an exploit to do with Phantasy Star Online. Basically it'll be a lot easier and you'll probably have all what you need already to use this on your wii, for the GC you'll need to buy some shit.

    And as for that SD gecko on Amazon for $50. Thats the same SD gecko I bought and I also got mine from Amazon, but it cost me £2 + £2 delivery, so no idea where that $50 came from
     
  19. metri3

    Newcomer metri3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States

    Awesome! Ordered it right away! Thank you!
     

Share This Page