What emulators do you think will be possible if the 3DS gets hacked?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by xwatchmanx, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Once the 3DS gets hacked, what do you think will be possible for emulation that is unattainable on the DS? I imagine we will be able to emulate GBA and SNES without lag or the need for external processing power found in the Supercard and other similar flashcarts. PS1 MIGHT be a possibility based on what I'm reading, but I'm also reading that N64 is all but impossible on the 3DS hardware. What do you guys think/know about the subject?
     


  2. Critica1

    Member Critica1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    All I read was "Once the 3DS gets hacked"

    Do you think this forum needs more hypothetical bullcrap than what it already produces?
     
    13 people like this.
  3. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I only started this thread because there's a huge off-topic discussion about it going on in a different thread. I'm simply trying to help keep things organized. You are quite welcome.

    Not to mention that this section is CALLED the "3DS hacking and homebrew" section... last I checked, the 3DS is NOT hacked, and hence there cannot be ANYTHING in this section that ISN'T what you call "hypothetical bullcrap", and by your logic, this whole section should not exist. Why are you even IN this section if you don't like that? Cuz that's all that's here.
     
    6 people like this.
  4. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    i would want 1 thead and a link to it.
     
  5. soratheultima

    Member soratheultima GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    -edit- nvm should have looked at the specs first it is more powerfull.. really thought the ps1 was newer and more powerfull oh well lol fail for me
     
  6. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    haha, yeah. A lot of people thought it was the more powerful system, at first. The truth is that the PS1 is better designed (disc based, and all), but not more powerful.
     
  7. soratheultima

    Member soratheultima GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    PS1: 33.8 Mhz 32-bit CPU, nameless GPU (effects: texture mapping, flat & gouraud shading, ect.), 2 MB main ram, 1 MB VRAM, can do 180K texture mapped and light sourced polygons per second.
    N64: 93.7 Mhz 64-bit CPU, 62.5 Mhz RCP (effects: everything the PS1 did + bilinear filtering, mip mapping, anti-aliasing, environment mapping, ect.), 4 MB RDRAM (expendable to 8 MB via Expansion Pak), can do 100K polygons in N64 quality in Fast3D mode and 500 to 600K polygons in PS1 quality in Turbo3D mode

    there you go if anyone has trouble comparing..
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    PS1 is a 32Bit console, N64 is a 64Bit console. You really don't have to look at specs to notice the difference.
     
    2 people like this.
  9. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you, Sora.

    does anyone have the 3DS specs? I've been looking for them on Google, and I'm having a bit of trouble finding them.
     
  10. soratheultima

    Member soratheultima GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    specs from 3dbrew: SoC Nintendo 1048 0H (Custom): CPU, GPU, VRAM & DSP all on one chip. Processor Core ARM11 MPCore 2x 268MHz & 2x VFP Co-Processor GPU DMP PICA 268MHz DSP 134Mhz. 24ch 32728Hz sampling rates. VRAM 6 MB within SoC. Independent of system memory (FCRAM). FCRAM 2x64MB Fujitsu MB82M8080-07L Storage Toshiba THGBM2G3P1FBAI8 1GB NAND Flash
     
  11. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    my guess is you would get a full speed running snes emu and maybe a full speed gba emu, psone i reckon would be hit and miss. still it is only guess work till a work around happens and we can see what devs can make of it
     
  12. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds about right. But if working with homebrew on Android has taught me anything, devs can be full of surprises.
     
  13. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    from the other thread:
    You do know that most of OoT 3D is actually emulated? They just slapped a new graphics engine on there. All the underlying code: emulated.
     
  14. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Compared to the PSP's specs, the 3DS is much more powerful in all respects. It has double the RAM, and 536mhz combined processing power (compared to 333mhz on the PSP). Although, the PSP was based on the MIPS architecture vs ARM on the 3DS. While I think the 3DS will be able emulate the PS1 and the N64 (probably better than the PS1), PS1 emulation will be lacking compared to the PSP.
     
  15. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for moving the discussion over here, Slowking. :-)

    And no, I didn't know that. very interesting. But how much is "most of"?

    and I don't know the technical aspects of how it works, but the "graphics" are the main problem with the emulation, right? so even if they just changed that, it makes sense that emulating the rest is no problem, maybe? (I know nothing about how this works, im just speculating)


     
  16. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It was actually rather decent. I remember I was playing Super Mario 64 at full speed with my PSP 1000. Games like Zelda were a bit laggy, but still playable. Star Fox 64 ran well too AFAIK.
    EDIT: Typo.
     
  17. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Hm... would you say the majority of games worked?

    Just wondering, because my Android phone (1ghz single core processor, vs the 3DS's 256mhz dual cores, so I think my phone is more powerful) has the N64oid emulator, Super Mario 64 and Maybe OoT and Banjo Kazooie are the only games that truly run with few flaws. almost any other game is either completely unplayable, or very annoyingly glitchy
     
  18. crazyj3ss

    Member crazyj3ss hmm

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ha, you thought I'd tell?
    Country:
    United States
    Despite it being more powerful(your android), if what Slowking says is true about it being emulation, then that would show that the system was pretty much built with N64 emulation in mind...an emulator that Big N makes would probably trump others anyway, being that it is their system and all.

    Btw, where did you get the 256mhz from? I thought it had a dual core 800mhz arm processor.
     
    2 people like this.
  19. thiefb0ss

    Member thiefb0ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    Prolly ps2/psone because of the joystick and d-pad.
     
  20. Zerosuit connor

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    N64, GBA, GBC, PSX, Genisis, GCN(has the power?)
     

Share This Page