What does 1:1 mean & can I change the region on a game

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hotdeal, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. hotdeal
    OP

    Newcomer hotdeal Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    I was looking at the backup launcher Gamma compatibility list and I saw that it said 1:1, I was wondering what that is and what it means when it says "Yes" or "No"
    Also, I recently downloaded a PAL SSBB, I have a NTSC Wii and I was just wondering how I can change the region to NTSC
    Thank you
     
  2. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,519
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    I believe the 1:1 means the game doesn't need to be patched , just burn it and it will work. as for the region changing you shouldn't need to I don't think... I an ntsc wii and play a lot of pal games with no problems under the gamma loader
     
  3. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1:1 means it is a direct copy. This is really only to distinguish against the old backup launcher, where you had to decrypt your backups to run them. The new one keeps the facility to run these 'patched' discs for compatibility.

    You shouldn't need to change any regions, it should do everything for you.
     
  4. hotdeal
    OP

    Newcomer hotdeal Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    So the gamma loader can play any region?
    Weather it's pal or NTSC
     
  5. Hkari

    Member Hkari GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. You will need to force NTSC though since Europe uses a different video mode though.
     
  6. Goshogun1

    Member Goshogun1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Country:
    United States
    Mostly yes. I never have to change the region of my backups from PAL into NTSC. So far I have only had a few PAL games that couldn't be played on my NTSC US system. Most PAL backups seem to work fine. A few exceptions are Links Crossbow, Scarface, COD5. There are probably others that don't, but they are in the minority.
     
  7. hotdeal
    OP

    Newcomer hotdeal Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    One more question
    Is there anyway to Un-Patch my backups?
    because some games don't work patched but I already patched them
    I really don't wanna DL them again

    EDIT: Also, how would I make a channel with only Backup launcher gamma?
    So i wouldn't have to go to homebrew channel, I can just go straight to gamma
     
  8. Valgreen

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada

    as far as i know you cannot unpatch them....

    also if your looking for a gamma channel... see this thread.. there are numerous channels created by many different people

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=115...p;#entry1648977
     
  9. nqd

    Newcomer nqd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    For games that does not support 1:1 disc copy, how do I handle them? Is there a patch for those games that I need to load?
     
  10. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    all games support 1:1 disc copies. there are a few games that need ios patching under the loaders. if you read up a bit you'll find out that region patching has been made obsolete though. just don't use the loaders use riskiimod (not actually risky) and load through the disc channel
     
  11. nqd

    Newcomer nqd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I actually burnt Bleach : Shattered Blade and Chicken shoot, while loading, I got " the disc can not be read..." message. Tried to looked up on Gamma compatibility list, it's said that the iso file need to be decrypted. What does it mean by that? What program I can use to "decrypt" the image? Does wiiscrubber actually decrypt for me?
     
  12. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Since we're on the subject, can anyone tell me whether or not a brick blocked disc is considered 1:1 or not? I'm not clear on whether BB'd discs are decrypted.
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Brick blocked is some kind of 1:1, but it's useless as ...(insert whatever you want). Why brick block a disc? I don't get it, the result of this is that the disc is trucha signed, where you could have a correct signed disc. Decrypted discs are, like the name says, decrypted. All regular IOS can't handle this, that's why decrypted discs ONLY work with the backup launchers from Waninkoko and WiiGator.
     

Share This Page