What do you like from a good book

Discussion in 'Books, Music, TV & Movies' started by JinTrigger, Jun 27, 2012.

Jun 27, 2012
  1. JinTrigger
    OP

Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

United States
    So I finally begin writing a novel I have been working on for the past 3 years. Two things I want to focus on is plot twist and character development as I believe those are some of the most important aspects of any story. Plot twist keep readers into the story without it every feeling too boring and character development is always fun as you can see characters grow without them becoming to static.

The thing I want to know is, what do you guys like out of a good story? Whatever comes to mind...

2. Shinigami357

Member Shinigami357 Current "give a fuck" level: Honey Badger

Philippines
    No sparkling vampires, for one...

No, seriously though... IMHO, a good book shows you that there is more to the setting than what the characters are on about. I mean, most stories go 'if you defeat [insert big baddie's name] everything is good in the world' or 'if [main character] ends up with [romantic interest] they ride off into the sunset and live happily ever after'.

I mean, have some scope, right?

Good luck on writing!

3. Costello

Administrator Costello Headmaster

what I like from a good book?
    its movie adaptation

4. Devin

Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

United States
    I prefer a book with good description, no overkill. Nice remember able characters, going for a goal. Fighting is always good, and a touch of mystery.

5. chains_of_androm

Member chains_of_androm GBAtemp Regular

United States
    Lol everyone has different tastes...plus many great books do not have any plot twists.

6. Gahars

Member Gahars Bakayaro Banzai

United States
    Just to cover the main bases, I always look for interesting characters, themes, etc. I think most people would agree with me there.