What do I need to know before buying the r4i gold 3DS?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by DinohScene, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. DinohScene
    OP

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,950
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Throw in a couple of more dollars and save yourself some trouble by buying an Acekard 2i.

    It's better then the R4i Gold since it's updated faster.
    If you really want a cheap card then the R4i Gold is a good choice indeed.

    Yes.
    You need to update the bootloader in a DSLite in order for it to work on a updated 3DS.
    You could ask the retailer if they want to update it for you.
     
  2. elunesgrace

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm up over in Canada, and had finally decided to choose this card (r4i gold 3DS).

    I started reading some of the things people were saying here though, and they're talking about having to flash it, and bricking your card, and needing a ds-lite =S.

    Does this mean I can't just buy the thing and have it work as is?


    Also, what's the best place to buy this thing for someone in Canada?

    thanks a lot!
     
  3. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Wood is updated more often than AKAIO is.
     
  4. DinohScene
    OP

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,950
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It may be updated more often but I usually see AK being one of the first cards to work on a sysupdated console.
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Kernel updates probably are more important than firmware updates.
    I'd rather be able to play a game that just came out than be able to use the card on the latest firmware.

    With Wood: Yay, can play the game now. I just have to not update my 3DS for a while.
    With AKAIO: Yay, can use the card on my updated 3DS. But I cannot play that one game...
     
  6. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    The ak's bootloader update was postponed for quite a while because they were waiting for the "November" update by nintendo... November lol
    Anyways, the long wait was quite agitating for some people (I was fine, since I didn't even have a 3ds)

    That aside, both carts are good candidates for high compatibility to games and quick bootloader updates. Neither of them would disappoint you, unless you get an acekard 2i with contact issues or crappy springs. Just have patience.
     
  7. DinohScene
    OP

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,950
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm used to wait long periods of time before I can reflash my 360 / update my RGH.

    So a fast AK2i update is sometimes welcomed ;p
    Yay for SCDSTwo being better
     
  8. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    Attention:the website on the sticker of your card should be www.r4ids.cn
     
  9. levy01

    Newcomer levy01 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    The r4i gold gold is now compatible with 3ds (3.0.0-6 and lower version) and dsi (1.4.3 and lower version), and it is a good card with wood kernel. http://www.oz3ds.com/product.php?id_product=28 declared that all the cards has been pre-flashed, if you worry about the pre-flashed issue, you can simply purchase a ready-to-use card...
     
  10. Themanhunt

    Member Themanhunt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Another good thing to know is that R4 cards are illegal in the UK.

    http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/34619/uk-renders-r4-cards-illegal
     
  11. elunesgrace

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    Well someone gave me this other site where it's at a reall good price. I've sent a message asking them if they could flash it for me.

    http://lightake.com/
     
  12. Themanhunt

    Member Themanhunt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lightake is good. Their postage time is average. Customer support is quite slow though.

    etcome.com is another good company. So is dealextreme.com

    zhuzhuchina is another one but thwy don't sell the 3DS version I believe.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/315784-flash-carts-and-dsi3ds-updates/

    So you'll want to get one from a shop that updates theirs before sending them out.
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. elunesgrace

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm going to try these others out as well while i wait for lightake

    Yeesh, so that means I can't update my 3ds until after i update my flash cart is that right?
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Right.
     
  16. elunesgrace

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  18. elunesgrace

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    Knew it. Is there a way to return or am I stuck with it?
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Contact the site and see, but given that you'll need to ship it back and such, it'd likely be less work and trouble to just order a new good one.
     

Share This Page