what do i need to be perfectly safe from bricking?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Zalda, Mar 21, 2009.

Mar 21, 2009
  1. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    i've got a wii with solderless 3.2e d2pro
    i have the hbc
    i have gecko os too

    what should i install so i can save my wii in most of the cases, like a misinstalling homebrew or a semibrick?
     


  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    preloader. if you screw up the menu or install a corrupted wad, you can use it to directly start the hbc instead of the wii menu, so you can do the necessarry rescue stuff.
     
  3. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    and what is the necessary rescue stuff?
     
  4. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    You could reinstall any corrupted, important titles like the System Menu or IOS30.
     
  5. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    okay, so how do i install that preloader?
    where can i get more info, cuz on wiibrew, it doesn't say much....
     
  6. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    Just launch preloaders boot.dol and follow the instructions.
    If you want to be safer keep in mind: "Never touch a running system."
    So, if your Wii is working, don't change ANYTHING!
     
  7. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    well it is running good atm, but i just don't want to semibrick it or so, since i'm running ntsc-u backups now and all
    it's just best to be on the safeside e [​IMG]

    can i install preloader 0.29 now? i don't have 0.28 on my wii yet
    cuz i've been reading things on the forums, which are quite scaring to me;....
    like that their wii is bricked cuz of 0.29

    also how do i install it?

    now i have a folder called preloaderv0.29-cred in my apps folder of my SD card
    in there i have these files:

    hacks.ini
    preloaderv0.29-cred.dol
    preloaderv0.29-cred.nfo

    do i need to rename anything?

    bumperz
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    rename the dol to boot.dol
    place the hacks.ini in the root of the SD card (and make sure it contains the hacks of your region)
     
  9. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    and where should i put the boot.dol?
    in apps? or in the root?

    which hacks should i install? what is [Replace Healthwarning with Backmenu] ?

    i think i'll install region free wii games, region free channels and skip disc update check (even though i remove all the updates via WiU.)
     
  10. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    boot.dol in apps (and its own floder of course)
     
  11. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    thanks tj_cool, could u answer my other question too? i edited my post
    nice sig btw
     
  12. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well you can choose the hacks you like
    I wouldn't install the backmenu thing (the backmenu is those grey wii logos you see if you choose return to wii menu in the home menu) as you might want to keep the healthwarning screen (the screen at boot)
    If there are any hacks that are named the same, you have to install all those hacks for it to work, but I dont think the newest hacks.ini still have those
     
  13. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    mkay, so at the moment i have this text in my hacks.ini file:

    [Region free Wii games]
    version=290
    offset=0x813798C0,0x81377B6C
    value=0x38600001,0x38000001
    [Skip disc update check]
    version=290
    offset=0x813791F0,0x813791F4
    value=0x60000000,0x60000000
    [Region free channels]
    version=290
    offset=0x81506FC8,0x813AE89C
    value=0x38000001,0x48000028

    for my 3.2 pal wii
    that's about it i think
    but the most important thing for me is to be able to launch the hbc before the grey menu with all the channels on it appears
    cuz that way i can save my wii from a brick/semi-brick, right?
     
  14. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    ok you can try to install it with preloader then
    important to know is to boot preloader, you have to hold RESET while the wii is booting (so hold it right after you press the power button)

    If preloader doesn't accept the hacks.ini you might need to delete the commas and type offset and value again

    ex:
    [region free wii games]
    offset=0x813798C0
    value=0x38600001
    offset=0x81377B6C
    value=0x38000001
    [next hack]
    ...
     
  15. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    k man, i'll try it tomorrow
    thanks a lot for your help, Belgian people rule! first that satangel guy and now you, thanks!
     
  16. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    no problem

    in my example, you need to type the version under the hack name
    I forgot it in my previous post:

    [hack name]
    version=290
    offset=...
    value=...
    offset=...
    value=...
    [next hack]

    offset and value like before
     
  17. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    wait, i don't get it anymore
    how should i put them in my hacks.ini file?

    cuz in what you typed above, the value has dissappeared...
    could u post it again like you did here:

    [region free wii games]
    offset=0x813798C0
    value=0x38600001
    offset=0x81377B6C
    value=0x38000001
    [next hack]

    but the correct version?
     
  18. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    oops, sorry
    corrected it
     
  19. Zalda
    OP

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    [Region free Wii games]
    version=290
    offset=0x813798C0,0x81377B6C
    value=0x38600001,0x38000001
    [Skip disc update check]
    version=290
    offset=0x813791F0,0x813791F4
    value=0x60000000,0x60000000
    [Region free channels]
    version=290
    offset=0x81506FC8,0x813AE89C
    value=0x38000001,0x48000028

    is this correct now?
     
  20. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
     

Share This Page