What DNS server do you use as a resolver?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by soulx, Mar 17, 2010.

?

What DNS server do you use?

  1. ISP's DNS Server

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Google's DNS

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. OpenDNS

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. I run my own DNS server (Wow)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Other (state in post)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Mar 17, 2010
  1. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    What DNS server do you use as a resolver? [​IMG]

    I use OpenDNS. It's easy to use. I prefer it over Google's DNS because of privacy concerns.
     
  2. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I don't really understand what's the point of changing it, so I just stick with my ISP's default.
     
  3. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    193.231.236.25
    193.231.236.30

    I know them by heart. ISP DNS sucks so bad.
     
  4. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    OpenDNS for the win. [​IMG] I almost switched to Google's DNS, but Namebench suggested I stick with OpenDNS, so... yeah.
     
  5. macgeek417

    Member macgeek417 妁眼のシャナ

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    United States
    4.2.2.1
    4.2.2.2
     
  6. KevInChester

    Member KevInChester GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I run my own using Treewalk DNS, I do this because there was a time a while back when my cable modem refused to access websites every 30 minutes or so for a period of 10-15 seconds. OpenDNS, and other DNS providers didn't work. Only other fix was to access sites exclusively via their numbers, which wasn't fun [​IMG]
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,697
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Custom hosts file, standard OS level cache, on network (sometimes), router hacked to use openDNS (it seems to be a new trick of ISPs to stop DNS changing so I had to hack it back to the base model).

    For portable machines I will tend to add openDNS to their DNS server lists depending on how/where the machine is used (having to run through network config over the phone/email is not as fun as it sounds) and while I rarely use it I do have a fallback DNS on a remote server I look after that more or less mirrors my home machines. Unless I am playing with it then it is only internet facing if I SSH into that machine, launch the daemon, telnet from there into the network router there and sort it all out).
    That one is more of a one for associates when visiting countries that dislike such things though.
     
  8. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
    I usually just use my ISP DNS, but when I have a problem I like using Google's.
    The main reason why I use google is because of the IP address, really easy to remember [​IMG]
     
  9. misteromar

    Member misteromar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Australia
    My isp DNS.
     
  10. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had no idea about these.
    Well, I just got OpenDNS and I love it [​IMG]
     
  11. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I switched to OpenDNS because of Rogers' DNS re-directing. A mistyped URL would bring up ad filled pages stored on the Rogers' server. And whenever I reached 75% of my monthly cap they hijacked web pages displaying a banner that told me that. It was annoying so I switched.
     
  12. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    8.8.8.8
    8.8.8.4
     

Share This Page