1. acesmokemall

    acesmokemall Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Ive had 4 firecudas 2 tera go out from PS within 1year I had to have seagate to keep having to replace them do to PS briking them so yes i know exactly where your coming from I said forget this and went with ssd no problems with PS killing my hdd anymore.Your not alone
     
    ItsmeAJ likes this.
  2. Urbanshadow

    Urbanshadow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,456
    Country:
    My 2TB firecuda SSHD is staying strong after two years now. Plenty of KP's in the process. It was on my PS4 Slim that I sold, then the PS4 PRO inherited it and it's there with a bunch of games. I think you just happened to be terribly unlucky.
     
  3. ItsmeAJ

    OP ItsmeAJ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    thanks, I replaced the failed original with crucial mx500 500gb ssd and it has been rocking solid through hundreds of panic shutdowns from 5.05 to 6.72.

    your 4 drives died because of panic shutdowns? or else causes?
     
  4. ItsmeAJ

    OP ItsmeAJ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Well, a friend sent me this pic of the error on his ps4 after getting 3 panic shutdowns in a row this morning, it was fine yesterday and now this

    Guess the internal hard drive is dead now, gonna take a pic of it and crystaldisk info when I get my hand on the console today, iirc it's a hybrid drive firecuda 1tb.

    [​IMG]

    I barely got the problematic console here, it's 1tb hybrid drive which was bought in 2018 and luckily still under 5 years warranty.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by ItsmeAJ, Oct 24, 2020
  5. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
    you'd probably have to format the drive. the ps4 hdd has 14 or 15 partitions on it including one very large partition, which should be for games. they'll all show up as unallocated memory, so you're going to have to delete each partition, then format. I'm not sure if crystal disk info will work with the drive otherwise. what would make this even easier is if you have a sata station. I used mine to format the drive completely in order to get rid of a banned account. I'm assuming this would be necessary, because afaik, the drive must be readable by windows to assign a drive letter to it.
     
    ItsmeAJ likes this.
  6. ItsmeAJ

    OP ItsmeAJ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Sadly the drive is completely dead, I firstly put it into hdd dock but no sign of life, crystaldisk info didn't show up anything, didn't show up in create and format hard disk partition as well. Then I plugged it directly to sata and power cable, my pc didn't even see the drive in bios.

    Luckily it's still under warranty so I my friend will soon be replaced with new drive, but I suggested him should sell the replacement drive and get 500GB SSD to get rid of any problem with kernel panic and get benefit from faster loading speed.
     
    Last edited by ItsmeAJ, Oct 24, 2020
    godreborn likes this.
  7. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
    it's hard to say if a kernel panic caused that to happen. the same sorts of things happen on the ps3 as well. whenever the system abruptly resets (like some of the options in rebug toolbox), it's supposed to have a shutoff improper warning where it scans the database. there are ways to turn it off (in debug settings; the same may exist on the ps4, but I haven't searched its settings), but afaik, no harm comes to the drive.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    btw, due to hardware limitations, an external hdd that's usb 3.0 might be the better option over an ssd. they run at nearly the same speed. this is the drive I'd suggest: it's big, compact, no power supply needed, and it's usb 3.0

    https://www.newegg.com/model-wdba3a...ack 5TB-_-22-234-385-_-Product&quicklink=true

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    do note that if you get a kp, the system will scan both the internal and the external for corruption. it's a good drive considering its size. I think a ssd would be wasting your money especially when the larger ones are so expensive, and I don't even know if anything over 2TBs can fit into the hdd bay unless it's a phat with a nyko.
     
  8. ItsmeAJ

    OP ItsmeAJ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Yeah man, it's hard to say the 3 continuously panic shutdowns this morning caused this because there's ton of people using jb and get panic shutdowns everyday and their drives still running strong, bad luck for my friend.

    I just want to say that there's always a small chance hard drives get damaged because of shutting down improperly aka panic shutdowns. And replacing them with an ssd is the best way to get rid of that.

    So ssd has great benefit over hard drive, not useless as some people say when you putting an ssd into ps4.

    500gb ssd is enough I guess, 500gb ssd costs cheaper and superior than 1tb hybrid drive anyway.
     
    Last edited by ItsmeAJ, Oct 24, 2020
  9. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
    I don't put any of my games on the internal hdd, so I wouldn't know for sure. @KiiWii might know whether there's a good chance of corruption. my suggesting a 3.0 drive is that the speed difference is less than 10MB/s I believe. and, the only way to fit in a larger than 2TB drive is to dremel the shielding in the hdd bay. I do not want to damage my ps4, so I opted for a large external.

    I've had several kp in the past, but almost always when deploying multiple payloads. and, the kp took the form of not being able to turn the system back on with the controller after shutting down. I'm sure there have been people with hundreds of kp who've never had the drive fail. I once had a friend from India who said that he always had to stick his ps3 on a generator, because the chances of the power going out were high where he lived. that's when he was updating. I'd think if there are regions where that happens, it'd be more unlikely that an abrupt shutoff would cause that kind of damage or else sony might receive a class action lawsuit.
     
  10. ItsmeAJ

    OP ItsmeAJ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    regarding large capacity hard drive, I've seen a 4tb internal drive used on ps4 pro. The owner had to remove the hdd bay, put the drive in and insert 2 old credit cards above and under the drive to keep it steady inside ps4 without hdd bay.

    and yes you're right, in some areas such as my city the electric current becomes unstable sometimes and can cause problems to electronic devices. I got rrod on the old falcon xbox 360 once and I've used voltage stabilizer for my devices since then.
     
    Last edited by ItsmeAJ, Oct 24, 2020
  11. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard that it's possible to stick a 12.5mm drive in a ps3 as long as you don't include the caddie. the same may be true of the ps4. if you don't jostle it, it'd probably be fine. the ps3 I bought a couple years ago came with a caddie, but the hdd bay was missing its screws. since the caddie cradles the hdd from the bottom, it didn't really matter. the ps4 is supposed to have an 8TB internal hdd capacity, but in a way it's deliberately misleading.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    the 360 has the same limit, but you can bend back the tabs of the internal hdd to fit in a 12.5mm. I'm not surprised that a power outage would cause a rrod glitch. the same thing happens if the power cable isn't plugged in all the way.
     
    ItsmeAJ likes this.
  12. acesmokemall

    acesmokemall Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Yep I had 4 of these Firecudas brick because of KPs so I know now hybrid hdds brick from KPs

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Well I had 4 of them brick because of Kernal panic shut downs all 4 same issue on ps4 pro just use ssd there great and fast no problem with KPS
     
    ItsmeAJ likes this.
  13. grabman

    grabman GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    i use a 4tb you can actually use 8tb in a ps4 pro. Just clearing this up cause I see false information in the thread.

     
  14. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
    that's an ssd, not hdd. it's a waste of money on the ps4.
     
  15. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,006
    Country:
    United States
    You must have really bad luck if you killed 4 hard drive because of Kernel panic, I been using a 2TB Seagate Barracuda and it is going fine. You guys should check the health of the HDD with crystaldiskinfo before use with the PS4.
     
  16. ItsmeAJ

    OP ItsmeAJ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Replacement drive was delivered yesterday, it's still under 37 months warranty so my friend decided to keep using it until at least 1 year before warranty ends then sell it and get new ssd, ssd drives should be much cheaper at that time.

    I showed him how to backup his profile/game saves/trophies so nothing will be lost next time the drive fails, he get brand new sealed drive for replacement anyway, so nothing really lost here except old profiles/save that he doesnt really need them.

    And I noticed some games that he previously installed on external 500gb drive (using the slim's original drive with hdd box after replacing with the firecuda) by using ps4 format (not app2usb) automatically recovered and displayed on screen then run flawless with hen.

    I thought these games will take place in drive but not showing up on xmb without running database rebuild script but no, just plug the drive in with or without hen, ps4 will running some kind of hdd adjusting and installed games on ext drive will appear again.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by ItsmeAJ, Oct 31, 2020
  17. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
    How did you get back trophies?
     
  18. ItsmeAJ

    OP ItsmeAJ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    it's easy, run db backup payload on 6.72, then you will have a folder named "UserData" on ext drive.

    inside UserData folder, you will have trophies backup in 2 locations \UserData\user\home\1331b41b\trophy and \UserData\user\trophy

    so when you recover account from ps4 official backup utilities, run jailbreak then run ftp payload, use ftp software from pc and put these 2 trophy folders above to exact location on ps4 storage where you see in ftp, reboot and all backup trophies will be restored exactly like the latest time you had them backup with dbbackup payload.

    "1331b41b" is my account id, yours will be different but trophy location is same.

    and fyi, trophy backup process works with psn-activated/non-activated local account flawlessly.
     
    Last edited by ItsmeAJ, Oct 31, 2020
    godreborn likes this.
  19. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
    Did you first have to use account activator?
     
  20. ItsmeAJ

    OP ItsmeAJ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    nah man, the only difference is with non-activated profile you can only restored on same console where the profile originally was created on, trophy backup and restore processes are same for both.

    I've been recovered both types a few times on both 5.05 and 6.72 without a problem, so you can confidently try it.
     
    Last edited by ItsmeAJ, Oct 31, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - shutdowns, damage, takes