What card should I get?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Skye07, Oct 17, 2008.

Oct 17, 2008

What card should I get? by Skye07 at 8:22 PM (1,308 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Skye07
    OP

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    So I got this old FlashAdvance 256Mbit and it can't hold the Mother 3 rom (32-33mb) on it cuz it's too small >_>

    Any flash card you can recommend me (preferably from DealExtreme) that I should get?
    I haven't been into the GBA flash card thing for years so I have no idea what's best.

    Thanks in adance.
     
  2. Foxle

    Member Foxle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
    The EZ-Flash 3in1 has never let me down before. It's pretty much the scene standard as far as slot-2 devices go nowadays. It's got good compatibility, RAM for the Opera Browser, and even a gimmicky rumble.

    ...and most importantly it plays Mother 3.
     
  3. Skye07
    OP

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Really? I was kinda worried about the 128Mbit tag it has? 128Mbit = 16 megabytes, no?

    Maybe DX is just wrong with their item description?
     
  4. rikuumi

    Member rikuumi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    I cant run Mother 3 on my EZflash 3in1 what im doing wrong? [​IMG]
     
  5. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    A 256 Mbit cart should be able to hold the 32 MB game file fine. 256 Mbits = 32 MBytes. What is the exact filesize of the rom (in kilobytes please)? If it's any larger than 32,768 kilobytes, it's not a valid GBA rom file.

    You can try trimming the game and re-flashing. Or trying to launch it from within Pogoshell.
     
  6. Skye07
    OP

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I tried trimming it, problem is with pogoshell on the card it's bigger than that. The gba file I get when building jumps to 65mb >_>
     
  7. Foxle

    Member Foxle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
  8. Skye07
    OP

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Can anyone link me to a shop where they sell the EZ 3-in-one that works with Mother 3? [​IMG]
     
  9. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    You aren't supposed to trim roms you have patched or are going to patch.
     
  10. Skye07
    OP

    Member Skye07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I know, just wanted to try and see if it made any difference, but the rom isn't trimable anyways.

    Question of my previous post still stands.
     

Share This Page