What can I do and how can I do it? M3 questions.

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Razum, May 20, 2010.

May 20, 2010
  1. Razum
    OP

    Newcomer Razum Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I just recently got a M3i Zero and the GBA expansion.

    Is anyone willing to explain pretty much everything to me? I'm pretty much a complete noob to this stuff, so any help is appreciated.


    Here's what I've done on my own.

    -Got the M3 to run Sakura and play MP3s on my DS Lite



    Here's the questions I have.

    - What do I need to do to play DS and GBA roms on this?

    - What else (if anything) can I do with the M3?


    Heading to bed now, but I'll check as soon as I wake up. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    You can play homebrew. [​IMG]
    Get nds and gba roms and put it on the micro sd and launch them to play nds and gba games. No we will not provide you with them.
     
  3. Razum
    OP

    Newcomer Razum Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    That's it? It's that simple for this?

    That's much simpler then I figured it would be, thanks.

    Oh, and I know you guys won't provide them for me, I did read the rules.
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you missed watching video's (dpg or dsm)
     
  5. cyfaws

    Newcomer cyfaws Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi, a somewhat related question. Will a slot2 card of any kind work for the GBA function, or does it have to be an M3 GBA expansion for the GBA capability to kick in?
     
  6. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    M3 or ewin expansion works natively.
    EZ-flash expansion requires a separate loader tool, which also needs to be patched because it's made not to work on M3 cards.
     
  7. cyfaws

    Newcomer cyfaws Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Sweden
    That's odd... I just started Metroid Fusion and it seems to be working just fine?
    I am using my old slot2 G6 Lite card (not booting through the slot2, of course, but through the M3i Zero). No hacks or loaders of any kind used.

    Well, I'm a happy man anyway [​IMG]
     
  8. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    M3/G6 slot-2 standalones usually work too, yes.
    didn't mention them because you asked about expansions
     
  9. cyfaws

    Newcomer cyfaws Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sorry, perhaps I was unclear... and sorry for hijacking the thread [​IMG]

    Thanks guys.
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    they removed the ewin compatibility natively a while ago with new firmware
     
  11. ChuckBartowski

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Just to be clear to the op: You dont need to have then slot 2 in every time you want to play a DS game. The only time you need it is if you want to play GBA roms or GBA homebrew.
     

Share This Page