Bob Loblaw

Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
I've been playing guitar for 12 years and I can tell you the sound will vary only very slightly between models if not for the pickups. So, get whichever one you like best and then put whatever pick ups in it sound best for what style of music you like to play for the optimal set up.

The rest depends on pre-amps, amps, pedals, and equalizers. And very slightly cables (don't buy into Monster go with something like Proco Lifelines) and speakers/cabinets.

Destructobot

Crave the Hammer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Epiphone makes some pretty good guitars, it's not like Squire vs. Fender (where Squire is complete garbage). Gibson guitars are nice, but you pay as much for the name as you do the instrument.

Destructobot

Crave the Hammer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Bob Loblaw said:
I've been playing guitar for 12 years and I can tell you the sound will vary only very slightly between models if not for the pickups.
This is only true for instruments that use similar woods and build methods. A Strat will sound quite different to a Les Paul even with identical pickups, due to the harder wood, longer scale, and bolt on neck vs. set neck. Les Pauls made by Gibson and Epiphone will sound quite similar though.

Edit: Automerge failed.

Bob Loblaw

Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Destructobot said:
Bob Loblaw said:
I've been playing guitar for 12 years and I can tell you the sound will vary only very slightly between models if not for the pickups.
This is only true for instruments that use similar woods and build methods. A Strat will sound quite different to a Les Paul even with identical pickups, due to the harder wood, longer scale, and bolt on neck vs. set neck. Les Pauls made by Gibson and Epiphone will sound quite similar though.

Edit: Automerge failed.