What brand desktop or laptop do you own?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Eric345, Jul 28, 2011.

Jul 28, 2011
  1. Eric345
    OP

    Member Eric345 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    United States
    I own dell desktop and laptop toshiba
     


  2. Pyrmon

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    There's already a thread like this.
     
  3. Blaze163

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    E-Machines netbook. It's poo. 1GB RAM, 160GB hard drive, N270 Intel Atom processor. It can just barely run the original Starcraft. Anything above that gives it the shakes and bouts of bed wetting. I can't even watch Nostalgia Critic unless it's on Youtube because the website won't load properly on this system. I badly need to replace it with something less wank but right now I have a tenner to my name. Doesn't go as far as it used to [​IMG]
     
  4. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    Toshiba Satellite A505 4GB SDRAM, 320GB HDD. Looking at buying or building a new desktop since I don't have one now.
     
  5. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Standard Acer netbook.
    Dell desktop, 1GB RAM (previously 512MB), 128MB x300 ATI radeon, 3GHz single core.

    I'm hoping to get a decent gaming laptop once I get a job/apprenticeship (just finished college).
     
  6. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Main desktop - custom built so no brand
    Second desktop - same as above
    Server - IBM

    Laptop - Sony
    Laptop - Samsung
    Laptop - eMachines

    Netbook - Asus
    Netbook - Zoostorm

    edit: also got a Packard Bell desktop, though it's currently not working
     
  7. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a few laptops laying around. Compaq, IBM, a old HP and Toshiba Sattalite.

    I use Dell.

    PC is custom build.
     
  8. jonesman99

    Member jonesman99 GBAtemp's Official ArchAndroid

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    A Star Called Metropolis
    Country:
    United States
    Toshiba Satellite L305-S5955

    Hardware:
    Intel Celeron 900 2.20 GHz (Penryn 45nm Technology)
    2.0GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 398Mhz Ram
    160GB 5400rpm Sata2 Hard drive
    DVD Multi Recorder (CD-R/RW and DVD+R/RW)
    Intel 45 Express Graphics 830 MB of video ram
    802.11 b/g Wireless built in

    Had to trade my 360 and entire collection for it, but since im getting back into my music and university is just around the corner in about a week, it was worth it.
     
  9. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    My custom desktop at home in Tucson:
    AMD Phenom X4 AM2+ Black Edition of some sort OC stable @ 2.8GHz Quad Core
    4GB DDR2 RAM in Dual Channel mode
    1GB XFX Radeon HD4870 256-bit GDDR5 graphics
    Some gross but still working mATX AM2/AM2+ ASUS Motherboard from 2008 i think.
    64GB Mushkin SSD boot drive, running Win7 x64 Ultimate and has Aion and a few other smaller things installed on it.
    500GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA HDD
    Other parts of little consequence, an overkill 700W PSU, Logitech 5.1 sound and a Logitech G15 keyboard and Naga mouse.

    Local desktop hand-me-down:
    I'll just be lazy and run CPU-Z..
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1927840
    Acer AX3200-U3600A w/Win7 Ult x64

    My "new" laptop:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16834115833
    Acer Aspire AS4551-4315
    Upgraded the RAM to 4GB, probably going to replace the HDD with an SSD when Black Friday rolls around.

    My formerly top-of-the-line ASUS gaming laptop:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16834220202
    ASUS F3Ka-A1
    Maxed out the RAM, it still plays WoW and Aion like a champ given it has such a low native resolution (1280x800) and 512MB dedicated graphics. However it occasionally hard locks-up and the battery is closing in on four years old so it's not very useful as my main mobile now.


    edit: and yes, i did review both the laptops i bought from newegg as "exangel" >
     
  10. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Dell Dimension 5000 which I thought was the bees-knees when I bought it. Since then I have learned that pre-built Dell machines are the computer equivalent of Fisher-Price products. My next PC will be custom built.
     
  11. blueboy

    Newcomer blueboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    India
    I have the new MacBook Pro, High-end 13 inch model
    Specs:
    13-inch: 2.7 GHz
    2.7GHz dual-core
    Intel Core i7
    4GB 1333MHz Ram
    500GB 5400-rpm1
    Intel HD Graphics 3000
    Built-in battery (7 hours)2

    AAAAAND OS X Lion =D

    Oh, and Desktop
    iMac Mid-2010
    21.5 inch
    3.06 Ghz Intel Core i3
    4 GB Ram
    500 GB Hard Drive
    ATI Radeon HD 4770 or something o.O
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Netbooks aren't designed for gaming - they're designed for running small apps (internet, office, multimedia, etc) on the go.

    Also, this thread feels rather pointless... but anywho:

    Laptops, 1 Toshiba, 2 HP, 1 PB and 1 Dell. EDIT: Forgot, 1 Acer too (it's my dad's).
    Desktops, 3 custom made, 1 PB, one OEM.
    Tablet: iPad 2.
     
  13. naved.islam14

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    Desktop: Hewlett-Packard
    Laptop: Acer
     
  14. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Haha, the laptop I'm using now is Sony Vaio F.

    Intel® Core™ i7-2720QM Processor 2.20 GHz with Turbo
    640 GB (Serial ATA, 7200 rpm)
    8GB (4GB x 2) DDR3 SDRAM (Max)
    Windows 7 Ultimate with Service Pack 1 64-bit

    My dad's MacBook Pro will arrive soon, and I'll try on them one day... ONE DAY.
     
  15. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Mid 2007 iMac which I normally tripleboot.

    Sister has a macbook early 2008
     
  16. Ringo619

    Member Ringo619 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    dell inspiron 1545
    Not the best out there , only 2 gb of ram , a core 2 duo each clocked at 2 ghz
     
  17. TwoBladedKnight

    Member TwoBladedKnight GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    Australia
    Acer Aspire 6930G

    Going to be building my own desktop soon...
     
  18. tagzard

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Hp pavillion dv7
     
  19. ecko

    Member ecko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    acer aspire 5742g &
    acer aspire one
     
  20. meornot0

    Member meornot0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    The exclusive
    "I-built-it-and-am-to-lazy-to-give-it-a-name-so-i-decided-to-call-it-this"
    Only 1 ever made.
    I will sell it for 2000$ though.
     

Share This Page