What are the chances of bricking a M3i Zero during an update?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by NinjaGuerra, Sep 25, 2009.

  1. NinjaGuerra
    OP

    Newcomer NinjaGuerra Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I got my Acekard 2i in finally, and i was so excited to use it, it looked awesome on my sister's ds lite, then i ran the 1.4 update to run it on my 1.4U DSi and...

    I think i bricked my acekard 2i =/ without even getting to use it T_T

    It doesn't show a cartridge is in on my dsi, and when i boot up with it in the ds lite, it freezes on the Nintendo logo...

    I've ordered a M3i Zero and it should arrive tomorrow...
    Is there anyway to fix my bricked acekard?

    I heard you could swap out flashcarts during the 1.4 update on a DSlite, would this really unbrick it?

    what are the chances of me bricking my M3i Zero?

    i've sunk 80 dollars just trying to get a working flashcart and im upset and frustrated and hoping that i can salvage my acekard, or atleast update my M3i Zero without it bricking...

    Any advice/help/comment is appreciated =D
     
  2. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,608
    Country:
    United States
    No (i think) there no way of brinking M3i zero cause it using a flash/update cable. Where the Acekard 2i need to updated with a system.
     
  3. NinjaGuerra
    OP

    Newcomer NinjaGuerra Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thats what I was hoping =D
    Or if it can brick is there a way to unbrick?
     
  4. ChuckBartowski

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    actually.... some people have already bricked theres.
     
  5. KlonoaMAST3R

    Newcomer KlonoaMAST3R Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    My fridge.
    Country:
    Canada
    One of my friends have one, but it never bricked when he updated his DSi. It still works, so in theory, it shouldn't brick.

    Although some has had their's brick, I don't think it's a very good chance of it happening.
     
  6. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible to brick it but most of the time if something goes wrong you can reflash it. I'm not exactly sure how the process works (seeing as how I don't work for the m3 team) but I think if you pull out the cable really early it might brick it but it has to be early.

    But don't worry the update literally takes 10 seconds so nothing really should go wrong.
     
  7. Matt140

    Member Matt140 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As long as you don't lose the updater, and as long as it's not broken, and as long as you don't recieve one of the first batches (which are known to have a problems with the update), you shouldn't be able to brick your M3i.
     

Share This Page