1. Tatsuna

    OP Tatsuna Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Hello guys,
    I have a patched Switch that I sent to someone who installed the SXOS chip. When he gave it back to me, I was prompted to use the dongle (an R4s) to enter RCM and inject Hekate.

    Since I'm a scaredy cat and the thought of my R4s dongle broken gives me chills down my spine, is there any alternative I can use to enter RCM through my patched Switch with the SXOS chip? The R4s doesn't exactly seem like the most durable of things, at least not mine.

    And another question: I don't actually intend to, but how can I opt for another payload that is not Hekate? For example, if I want to run Atmosphere through fusee-primary.bin without first entering Hekate, how can I do so? Or must I do so because of the patched Switch and the modchip?
     
    Last edited by Tatsuna, Aug 3, 2020
  2. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,018
    Country:
    Australia
  3. Tatsuna

    OP Tatsuna Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    1. Are you sure about that? He specifically told me that I need to connect the USB Dongle to the Switch and press the button to inject the RCM mode and subsequently Hekate.
    2. I haven't got a Mariko but a patched unit. This means that Atmosphere runs on my Switch and I'm actually using it and running homebrews on it.
     
  4. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,018
    Country:
    Australia
    1. you need to connect to the pc for updating the modchip firmware
    2. with the boot payload and license files on sd card as soon as u see the sxos logo hold + so menu will appear. "options>payloads" any payloads on root of the sd card will appear i d place hekate payload there
    3. with hekate you can setup autoboot so when u boot into hekate it will go straight to atmos
     
  5. Alsusee

    Alsusee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That doesn't sound right. Are you sure that your switch wasn't swapped for an older unpatched Switch?

    If your Switch was chipped, it should start up with a SX logo then go onto the Nintendo and Switch logo screens. If you go into the album after the Switch has booted, it should have the SX OS screen.
     
  6. kidkat210

    kidkat210 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    They have the patched unit, not markio. So any mod chip for the switch should work (at least from my understanding of the patched units) if I'm correct about this info, they don't need to use sx os or a dongle. Just update the payloads on the chip
     
  7. Tatsuna

    OP Tatsuna Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    No, I certainly have the Xecuter modchip because my patched unit was on firmware 8.1 or thereabouts. There was no way to hack my Switch before they released the modchip.
    Now, is it strange if I use a payload to inject Hekate with it?

    Anyway, I asked about that mainly for two reasons:
    1) I'd like to have another way to enter RCM without forcingly having to use the R4s;
    2) I'd like to boot Atmosphere without Hekate, both for testing and for compatibility reasons with other homebrews (like Tinfoil, which I don't really need with Awoo Installer but I like having different options), but since I'm new to the scene I don't want to do everything solo and was searching for more educated answers.
     
  8. Helidwarf

    Helidwarf Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Italy
    1) As already explained by others you DONT enter RCM with the modchip, it automatically boots into the sxos bootloader, YOU DO NOT NEED A DONGLE, if your switch doesn't automatically boots on the sxos bootloader or cfw then you DO NOT have the SX core modchip installed.
    You can keep asking the same question all you want but if you don't believe the answers you are given then there's nothing we can do.
    I SAY AGAIN YOU DO NOT NEED A DONGLE OR WHATEVER R4s ARE TO BOOT CFW!!!!!!
    and you case you ask "Really? but my modder say I need" yes really, either your modder lied to you or he doesn't know anything about the sx modchip!

    2) If you have a erista unit (V1 patched switch) then you can boot atmosphere through the sx os bootloader, put atmosphere on your sd card with the console turned off and power it on while keeping the volume up buttom pressed, keep it pressed until you are in sx bootloader, you can then choose another payload to boot from such as fusee-gelee.
    As of now there is no other way to boot into atmosphere than through sx os bootloader.
    If you have a mariko unit (V2 2019+ switch) then there's currently no way to boot atmosphere as atmosphere currently does not support mariko units.
     
    Last edited by Helidwarf, Aug 4, 2020
    kidkat210 likes this.
  9. Tatsuna

    OP Tatsuna Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you have misunderstood the context of the discussion because I wasn't ignoring anything about what other people said. They were arguing about my Switch being a Mariko or a patched unit and I simply clarified which one I own -- no reply was I ever given about the questions I had asked. There was honestly near to no need of your aggression but thank you regardless for your answers.

    I just finished a couple of tests and I can confirm I haven't got the SXOS modchip, because my Switch can't turn on anymore without the dongle sending Hekate at boot.
    Does this mean I don't have a sysNAND right now? What could I do to create a new one if I can?

    Still, I can't believe there was actually something like *this*. I literally have a patched unit above 8.0 and I thought there was no other way beside Xecuter's one to hack my Switch, but apparently it did the job? The R4s Dongle has a built-in bootloader with "Hekate CTCaer mod" that lets you launch a payload of your choosing. I actually don't like this solution but it lets me run Atmosphere regardless... guess I'm bound to it though?
     
  10. Helidwarf

    Helidwarf Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Italy
    it is very possible your console have been swapped then, what you are describing sounds very likely to be what is called Auto-RCM
    as stated before the modchip ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT NEED payload injection, only old unpatched units do.
    If I were you I'd go ask my modder the reason of that, perhaps they botched the install and replaced your unit with an unpatched one.
     
    TheCasualties likes this.
  11. Tatsuna

    OP Tatsuna Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not excluding it, but I find it unlikely. I have the Switch version of Pokémon Let's Go Pikachu & Eevee and the console is exactly in the same conditions I have sent him before. No changes in appearances nor in conditions. Is it manageable to actually swap the entirety of the system apart from the "cover" and make it work? Otherwise I really don't know how they managed to hack the console considering that it has been impossible to hack for a long time before Xecuter released their modchip...
     
  12. Helidwarf

    Helidwarf Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Italy
    They only needed to swap the motherboard, either that or you had an unpatched unit, fusee-gelee exploit works on every firmware for unpatched consoles, try checking your console serial. Maybe they noticed you had an unpatched unit and tried to pocket the fee you pay them. Anyway it does not seem like you have the modchip installed.
     
  13. Tatsuna

    OP Tatsuna Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    I checked it and yes, they swapped the motherboard. I checked the Switch serial number several times before (in fact I have it on my search history on the net) and after comparing the two, they're different. Well that's a twist.
     
  14. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,018
    Country:
    Australia
    check if your switch serial is a patch unit or new with new serial?
    https://ismyswitchpatched.com/
     
  15. LapCheong

    LapCheong GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Australia
    I think it is good trade don't you think? Why would someone wants to have a mariko switch?

    First it is solder on, so in the future anything happens good luck fixing yourself.
    Second, no one really know how sx core works and how will it performance in the long run.

    I only good think is that it is sxos which very simple to use and minimal knowledge is required. But from your reply i suggest you read up more...run a emunand or emummc if you using atmosphere as a brick protection.
     
  16. Bu2d85

    Bu2d85 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,018
    Country:
    United States
    I would check to make sure the motherboard you were given was not banned by Nintendo.

    It may seem like a good deal to get an unpatched motherboard, but if you paid for the chip and installation you may have just given the modder a free unbanned system and paid him to install the modchip for himself.

    I personally would be upset for not getting what I paid for. In your case you are now stuck with a dongle that you would not have to use if the motherboard was not swapped.
     
  17. Godofcheese

    Godofcheese Insane
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Country:
    Sweden
    One way to find out if they swapped the board and did not install the mod chip, just open up the console and verify yourself.
    You will prolly notice straight away if it's in there or not
     
    Last edited by Godofcheese, Aug 5, 2020
  18. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,018
    Country:
    Australia
    the serial checker will say if its patch or not without opening it up. but even if it's an unpatched you could still treat it as trinket m0 chip and boot hekate with it
     
  19. Switch_Maniac

    Switch_Maniac GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have the name of the installer? Would like to stay away from them as that’s not the service you paid for and they clearly didn’t tell you what was done. End of the day you have a hackable Switch, but still that’s really shady.
     
  20. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex 160-0103
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2,781
    Country:
    Germany
    This makes no sense. A patched unit doesn't have the flaw in the bootrom. The only thing you get is blackscreen. On ipatched units of course. And on the mariko revision is the same.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - alternatives, patched, modchip