Hacking Suggestion What alternatives do I have for my patched Switch with SXOS modchip

Tatsuna

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
436
Country
United States
Hello guys,
I have a patched Switch that I sent to someone who installed the SXOS chip. When he gave it back to me, I was prompted to use the dongle (an R4s) to enter RCM and inject Hekate.

Since I'm a scaredy cat and the thought of my R4s dongle broken gives me chills down my spine, is there any alternative I can use to enter RCM through my patched Switch with the SXOS chip? The R4s doesn't exactly seem like the most durable of things, at least not mine.

And another question: I don't actually intend to, but how can I opt for another payload that is not Hekate? For example, if I want to run Atmosphere through fusee-primary.bin without first entering Hekate, how can I do so? Or must I do so because of the patched Switch and the modchip?
 
Last edited by Tatsuna,

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,388
Trophies
0
XP
1,521
Country
Australia

Tatsuna

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
436
Country
United States
1. with the modchip you don't need a dongle just the boot payload on sd card.
2. atm atmos doesn't support the markio chip so i wouldn't worry about it atm. i would also check here for list of homebrew that works and doesn't work
https://gbatemp.net/threads/sx-core-mariko-list-of-non-compatible-tools.567803/

also, I would download and update the chip's firmware and use the latest sxos

1. Are you sure about that? He specifically told me that I need to connect the USB Dongle to the Switch and press the button to inject the RCM mode and subsequently Hekate.
2. I haven't got a Mariko but a patched unit. This means that Atmosphere runs on my Switch and I'm actually using it and running homebrews on it.
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,388
Trophies
0
XP
1,521
Country
Australia
1. you need to connect to the pc for updating the modchip firmware
2. with the boot payload and license files on sd card as soon as u see the sxos logo hold + so menu will appear. "options>payloads" any payloads on root of the sd card will appear i d place hekate payload there
3. with hekate you can setup autoboot so when u boot into hekate it will go straight to atmos
 

Alsusee

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 12, 2018
Messages
77
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
476
Country
United Kingdom
That doesn't sound right. Are you sure that your switch wasn't swapped for an older unpatched Switch?

If your Switch was chipped, it should start up with a SX logo then go onto the Nintendo and Switch logo screens. If you go into the album after the Switch has booted, it should have the SX OS screen.
 

kidkat210

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
482
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
1,064
Country
United States
That doesn't sound right. Are you sure that your switch wasn't swapped for an older unpatched Switch?

If your Switch was chipped, it should start up with a SX logo then go onto the Nintendo and Switch logo screens. If you go into the album after the Switch has booted, it should have the SX OS screen.
They have the patched unit, not markio. So any mod chip for the switch should work (at least from my understanding of the patched units) if I'm correct about this info, they don't need to use sx os or a dongle. Just update the payloads on the chip
 

Tatsuna

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
436
Country
United States
They have the patched unit, not markio. So any mod chip for the switch should work (at least from my understanding of the patched units) if I'm correct about this info, they don't need to use sx os or a dongle. Just update the payloads on the chip
No, I certainly have the Xecuter modchip because my patched unit was on firmware 8.1 or thereabouts. There was no way to hack my Switch before they released the modchip.
Now, is it strange if I use a payload to inject Hekate with it?

Anyway, I asked about that mainly for two reasons:
1) I'd like to have another way to enter RCM without forcingly having to use the R4s;
2) I'd like to boot Atmosphere without Hekate, both for testing and for compatibility reasons with other homebrews (like Tinfoil, which I don't really need with Awoo Installer but I like having different options), but since I'm new to the scene I don't want to do everything solo and was searching for more educated answers.
 

Helidwarf

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
77
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
492
Country
Italy
No, I certainly have the Xecuter modchip because my patched unit was on firmware 8.1 or thereabouts. There was no way to hack my Switch before they released the modchip.
Now, is it strange if I use a payload to inject Hekate with it?

Anyway, I asked about that mainly for two reasons:
1) I'd like to have another way to enter RCM without forcingly having to use the R4s;
2) I'd like to boot Atmosphere without Hekate, both for testing and for compatibility reasons with other homebrews (like Tinfoil, which I don't really need with Awoo Installer but I like having different options), but since I'm new to the scene I don't want to do everything solo and was searching for more educated answers.

1) As already explained by others you DONT enter RCM with the modchip, it automatically boots into the sxos bootloader, YOU DO NOT NEED A DONGLE, if your switch doesn't automatically boots on the sxos bootloader or cfw then you DO NOT have the SX core modchip installed.
You can keep asking the same question all you want but if you don't believe the answers you are given then there's nothing we can do.
I SAY AGAIN YOU DO NOT NEED A DONGLE OR WHATEVER R4s ARE TO BOOT CFW!!!!!!
and you case you ask "Really? but my modder say I need" yes really, either your modder lied to you or he doesn't know anything about the sx modchip!

2) If you have a erista unit (V1 patched switch) then you can boot atmosphere through the sx os bootloader, put atmosphere on your sd card with the console turned off and power it on while keeping the volume up buttom pressed, keep it pressed until you are in sx bootloader, you can then choose another payload to boot from such as fusee-gelee.
As of now there is no other way to boot into atmosphere than through sx os bootloader.
If you have a mariko unit (V2 2019+ switch) then there's currently no way to boot atmosphere as atmosphere currently does not support mariko units.
 
Last edited by Helidwarf,
  • Like
Reactions: kidkat210

Tatsuna

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
436
Country
United States
1) As already explained by others you DONT enter RCM with the modchip, it automatically boots into the sxos bootloader, YOU DO NOT NEED A DONGLE, if your switch doesn't automatically boots on the sxos bootloader or cfw then you DO NOT have the SX core modchip installed.
You can keep asking the same question all you want but if you don't believe the answers you are given then there's nothing we can do.
I SAY AGAIN YOU DO NOT NEED A DONGLE OR WHATEVER R4s ARE TO BOOT CFW!!!!!!
and you case you ask "Really? but my modder say I need" yes really, either your modder lied to you or he doesn't know anything about the sx modchip!

2) If you have a erista unit (V1 patched switch) then you can boot atmosphere through the sx os bootloader, put atmosphere on your sd card with the console turned off and power it on while keeping the volume up buttom pressed, keep it pressed until you are in sx bootloader, you can then choose another payload to boot from such as fusee-gelee.
As of now there is no other way to boot into atmosphere than through sx os bootloader.
If you have a mariko unit (V2 2019+ switch) then there's currently no way to boot atmosphere as atmosphere currently does not support mariko units.

I believe you have misunderstood the context of the discussion because I wasn't ignoring anything about what other people said. They were arguing about my Switch being a Mariko or a patched unit and I simply clarified which one I own -- no reply was I ever given about the questions I had asked. There was honestly near to no need of your aggression but thank you regardless for your answers.

I just finished a couple of tests and I can confirm I haven't got the SXOS modchip, because my Switch can't turn on anymore without the dongle sending Hekate at boot.
Does this mean I don't have a sysNAND right now? What could I do to create a new one if I can?

Still, I can't believe there was actually something like *this*. I literally have a patched unit above 8.0 and I thought there was no other way beside Xecuter's one to hack my Switch, but apparently it did the job? The R4s Dongle has a built-in bootloader with "Hekate CTCaer mod" that lets you launch a payload of your choosing. I actually don't like this solution but it lets me run Atmosphere regardless... guess I'm bound to it though?
 

Helidwarf

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
77
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
492
Country
Italy
I believe you have misunderstood the context of the discussion because I wasn't ignoring anything about what other people said. They were arguing about my Switch being a Mariko or a patched unit and I simply clarified which one I own -- no reply was I ever given about the questions I had asked. There was honestly near to no need of your aggression but thank you regardless for your answers.

I just finished a couple of tests and I can confirm I haven't got the SXOS modchip, because my Switch can't turn on anymore without the dongle sending Hekate at boot.
Does this mean I don't have a sysNAND right now? What could I do to create a new one if I can?

Still, I can't believe there was actually something like *this*. I literally have a patched unit above 8.0 and I thought there was no other way beside Xecuter's one to hack my Switch, but apparently it did the job? The R4s Dongle has a built-in bootloader with "Hekate CTCaer mod" that lets you launch a payload of your choosing. I actually don't like this solution but it lets me run Atmosphere regardless... guess I'm bound to it though?

it is very possible your console have been swapped then, what you are describing sounds very likely to be what is called Auto-RCM
as stated before the modchip ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT NEED payload injection, only old unpatched units do.
If I were you I'd go ask my modder the reason of that, perhaps they botched the install and replaced your unit with an unpatched one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TheCasualties

Tatsuna

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
436
Country
United States
it is very possible your console have been swapped then, what you are describing sounds very likely to be what is called Auto-RCM
as stated before the modchip ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT NEED payload injection, only old unpatched units do.
If I were you I'd go ask my modder the reason of that, perhaps they botched the install and replaced your unit with an unpatched one.

I'm not excluding it, but I find it unlikely. I have the Switch version of Pokémon Let's Go Pikachu & Eevee and the console is exactly in the same conditions I have sent him before. No changes in appearances nor in conditions. Is it manageable to actually swap the entirety of the system apart from the "cover" and make it work? Otherwise I really don't know how they managed to hack the console considering that it has been impossible to hack for a long time before Xecuter released their modchip...
 

Helidwarf

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
77
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
492
Country
Italy
I'm not excluding it, but I find it unlikely. I have the Switch version of Pokémon Let's Go Pikachu & Eevee and the console is exactly in the same conditions I have sent him before. No changes in appearances nor in conditions. Is it manageable to actually swap the entirety of the system apart from the "cover" and make it work? Otherwise I really don't know how they managed to hack the console considering that it has been impossible to hack for a long time before Xecuter released their modchip...
They only needed to swap the motherboard, either that or you had an unpatched unit, fusee-gelee exploit works on every firmware for unpatched consoles, try checking your console serial. Maybe they noticed you had an unpatched unit and tried to pocket the fee you pay them. Anyway it does not seem like you have the modchip installed.
 

Tatsuna

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
436
Country
United States
They only needed to swap the motherboard, either that or you had an unpatched unit, fusee-gelee exploit works on every firmware for unpatched consoles, try checking your console serial. Maybe they noticed you had an unpatched unit and tried to pocket the fee you pay them. Anyway it does not seem like you have the modchip installed.

I checked it and yes, they swapped the motherboard. I checked the Switch serial number several times before (in fact I have it on my search history on the net) and after comparing the two, they're different. Well that's a twist.
 

LapCheong

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2019
Messages
223
Trophies
0
XP
488
Country
Australia
I think it is good trade don't you think? Why would someone wants to have a mariko switch?

First it is solder on, so in the future anything happens good luck fixing yourself.
Second, no one really know how sx core works and how will it performance in the long run.

I only good think is that it is sxos which very simple to use and minimal knowledge is required. But from your reply i suggest you read up more...run a emunand or emummc if you using atmosphere as a brick protection.
 

Bu2d85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,032
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
875
Country
United States
I would check to make sure the motherboard you were given was not banned by Nintendo.

It may seem like a good deal to get an unpatched motherboard, but if you paid for the chip and installation you may have just given the modder a free unbanned system and paid him to install the modchip for himself.

I personally would be upset for not getting what I paid for. In your case you are now stuck with a dongle that you would not have to use if the motherboard was not swapped.
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,388
Trophies
0
XP
1,521
Country
Australia
the serial checker will say if its patch or not without opening it up. but even if it's an unpatched you could still treat it as trinket m0 chip and boot hekate with it
 

Switch_Maniac

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Messages
182
Trophies
0
XP
603
Country
United States
Do you have the name of the installer? Would like to stay away from them as that’s not the service you paid for and they clearly didn’t tell you what was done. End of the day you have a hackable Switch, but still that’s really shady.
 

BaamAlex

S̶̥͝l̷̹̀͗e̶̼̖̩̅͊e̷̛̦͉̦p̷̘͌͝i̵͇̠̞̿̌n̷̰͚͌̓͝g̷̦̲̍̆͝
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
4,099
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
3,376
Country
Germany
1. Are you sure about that? He specifically told me that I need to connect the USB Dongle to the Switch and press the button to inject the RCM mode and subsequently Hekate.
This makes no sense. A patched unit doesn't have the flaw in the bootrom. The only thing you get is blackscreen. On ipatched units of course. And on the mariko revision is the same.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    mthrnite @ mthrnite: "never eat at a place called Mom's" ~Algren