Western Digital My Passport 1tb LOCKED UP!

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by fishykipper, Dec 29, 2009.

Dec 29, 2009
  1. fishykipper
    OP

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello to all, hopefully this is the correct section!

    I have a 'Western Digital My Passport Essential 1tb HDD Drive', which has somehow locked up (can not be accessed by the wii, nor by my pc or mac.
    On my PC, that HDD would normally show up in the My Computer section and i'd add new games to it using wbfs manager. But now it just doesn't show up, when the drive is added to the PC, it makes the usual 'new hardware found sounds', but it just wont show up due to the drive being locked.

    Theres a small icon on the front of the HDD which shows a small lock.

    Ive been in touch with WD customer support and they tell me theres no way of unlocking the drive without their correct software installed on my computer, which I have, and i've re-installed it on numerous occasions. But for some reason im just not able to access the drive...!

    Im asking today, if anyone know of any software/shareware/third party software which will enable me to access the drive on either pc or mac, either remove the password/restrictions, or just format the drive??
    It would be a great shame to loose all the date, but id rather that, then to buy a whole new drive.


    Cheers for taking the time to read this.
    Happy new year
    jack
     
  2. fishykipper
    OP

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    come on smart people! help me........imagine if you had no wii games :-( Bad times!!
     
  3. Veristical Blaze

    Member Veristical Blaze GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    The Edge Of Shibuya
    Country:
    Netherlands
    this should be posted in the Backup loaders section. sorry i have no idea
     
  4. spoolcron

    Newcomer spoolcron Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I posted this over at on another forum regarding passports, hopefully it will help here:

    "It may also have to do with the passports themselves, the new passports are a little funky

    http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-Pass.../dp/B002KCA85I/

    I have that same type that I purchased from costco, as you can see from the reviews, they have problems. Granted they also have solutions

    to make mine work perfectly

    1. Use the short USB cable, the WD dock caused constant spin and no detection of the drive
    2. Update the drive firmware
    3. Remove the Smartware that you can not even see on the partition table (shiesty)

    steps two and three require you to go to this page:

    WD Product Updates

    I should probably put this in a thread of it's own, but I figure the WD passport people will find it here "

    but if it's just locked and can't be read, try another cable, it solved that step for me 0.o
     
  5. robiul

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    which edition do you have? the usb powered or adapter powered?
     
  6. fishykipper
    OP

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have the adapter powered!
    i tried the above steps, but no luck!!!
    still doesn't appear on either my pc or mac!

    cheers for the responce though guys/girls! sorry for my slow reply!
     
  7. SvtLight

    Newcomer SvtLight Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I tried updating the firmware to get rid of the VCD on my cpu with windows 7 and the hdd crashed and was un retrievable.. had to send it back and get a new one.. Be careful..

    I saw this link somewhere give it a shot

    http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk
     

Share This Page