Western Digital Harddrive

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by RedFire128, Aug 30, 2010.

Aug 30, 2010

Western Digital Harddrive by RedFire128 at 7:15 AM (898 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. RedFire128
    OP

    Newcomer RedFire128 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Trying to get this piece of crap to work with the HBC. I'm running into a problem though. I can only format it to either NTFS or exFAT, but it needs to be FAT32 to work with the HBC. Can anbody here explain to me how to make a FAT32 partition ?
     
  2. PeregrinFig

    Member PeregrinFig A miserable little pile of secrets

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Run a Command Prompt as administrator, and enter "format /FS:fat32 X:", the X being the drive letter. If that doesn't work (or if I got the command wrong, in which case I apologize), then there's a program called Swiss Army Knife that should let you format. Good luck, hope you get it working. I just had to format my new HDD myself earlier, but I did it in a drastically different way, and it took forever. Formatting it to fat32 should be a lot easier than wiping and recreating it, then formatting to WBFS was for me.
     
  3. RedFire128
    OP

    Newcomer RedFire128 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks man. Didn't think i'd get a response so quickly.
     
  4. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,355
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    you can also use partition wizard 5 and it's FREE
     
  6. Fahrenheit

    Newcomer Fahrenheit Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    I would think that the Command Prompt is the best way, Be prepared tough it does it the long way and not the quick way so your looking at long time to do. I think the long way is better tough.
     
  7. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    It does it the quick way if you include the quick format switch when typing in the command.

    Command prompt will only work on certain size hard drives anyway. Some limitation Microsoft put in. You're better off using a 3rd party program to do it like another person posted.
     
  8. Giga_Gaia

    Member Giga_Gaia Shinigami

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You are right. Command prompt and other tools included in windows os can only make fat32 partition of 32GB. You want bigger, you need a special application like the ones mentionned above.
     

Share This Page