Well they modded my Wii, but.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Xandu, Mar 7, 2008.

Mar 7, 2008

Well they modded my Wii, but. by Xandu at 9:36 PM (3,423 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    I sent it to a local store to be modded. They said they're installing a Wiikey but that's not the issue.

    I called today and they told me that they have installed the Wiikey chip but,..
    Neither does the Original nor the backups work!! They just give Unable to Read Disc message. That's what they said.

    They also said that they have followed the instructions in the PDF correctly. They said they didn't touch the lens or anything, just the "IC" cables.

    It used to work perfectly using my old chip.

    So what could be the problem? Have they ruined my Wii? Should I try removing the Wiikey and try again (they said it won't affect)?

    Please reply ASAP, thanks in advance.
     


  2. Willemoke

    Member Willemoke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    Netherlands
    When my wiikey was installed I had the same thing! It seemed that the wiikey the gave me was broken, the replaced it a few days later and everything works fine now, just get the wiikey out of the wii.
     
  3. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Alright they said they're removing it tomorrow, hope it works. What else could be the problem?
     
  4. Regiiko

    Member Regiiko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Örebro
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sounds like a WiiKey clone >_>
     
  5. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    but wiikey clones work afaik? [​IMG]
    could be just broken wiikey. Or not so good solderers. heh.
     
  6. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,853
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    If any wires or crossed or something is bridged it could cause a problem.

    They seem to know what they're doing but you really don't know unless you do it yourself.
     
  7. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Hope you guys are right. Hope they didn't screw up my Wii.

    Anyway I'll inform you tomorrow when I call them back. Thanks for your help!
     
  8. stok3d

    Member stok3d Retro Gaming Inc.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    SomeBeachSomeWhere
    Country:
    Canada
    if they did screw it up, make sure you play some hardball and demand free labour or a free chip, whatever it takes for them to make it right. if they try to jerk you around, remind them you have friends and you'll 'spread the word'. [​IMG]
     
  9. DarkCamui

    Member DarkCamui GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Country:
    Sweden
    My WiiKey is a clone and it works great, it even updated to 1.9G firmware without problems so [​IMG]
     
  10. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    From what I know, that shouldn't matter. They are essentially the same thing as the official(why the Wiikey team cant block firmware updates). Same IC, same everything(except for a little hologram that comes with it [​IMG] )

    Sounds like a broken chip. Shouldn't happen as most modders test it first
     
  11. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Maybe it's a broken Wiikey clone? I called them now and they said they will try a D2CKey "pro"?
     
  12. OzModChips

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    sounds like you are dealing with a bunch of tards
    if i was you i would get my wii back, and my money, and post some pics
     
  13. mr deez

    Member mr deez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If thats what they said, I'd worry. If you have a D2C Wii, they should never have attempted to fit a wiikey, christ knows what they've done to it.
     
  14. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Hmm well they tried it without the chip and Wii Sports worked. Then they installed the D2CKey (pro) and it didn't work :S.

    He said he tried D2CKey and D2CPro and neither worked. They both returned "Unable to read disc in Wii Sports"

    So what could be the problem? And what's with D2C Wii's? I got mine like March 10th.
     
  15. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    It might be a bad install - you're obviously not dealing with professionals when they need to "follow the instructions in the PDF."
     
  16. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd get the Wii back without the chip ASAP. I'd be very worried that a "professional" has failed two attempts at soldering hardware, especially when you're paying for it.
     
  17. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    That is cause for concern, they should be experienced enough before you trust them with your wii.
     
  18. mr deez

    Member mr deez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They simply require a D2C chip - which a Wiikey is not.

    If they attempted to fit a Wiikey, they were doomed from the start - and if they didn't know that, I'd worry!
     
  19. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Alright I got it back, they removed (disabled) my old modchip and they couldn't install the D2CKey nor the D2CPro, it gave unable to read disc even in the originals.

    They screwed up the triwing screws and put instead some normal ones, I could open my Wii but, no.

    So, should I send it to be chipped with a Wiikey to some real professionals in Kuwait or something? These people here are tards they couldn't even use the Wiimote I had to explain to them :S !!.
     
  20. Regiiko

    Member Regiiko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Örebro
    Country:
    Sweden
    Did you at least get your money back?
     

Share This Page