Well, I could hold out no longer...

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by GeekyGuy, Oct 22, 2007.

Oct 22, 2007
  1. GeekyGuy
    OP

Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

United States
    I really wanted to hold out for the English version, because I had been anticipating playing this game for so long. But the wait for DQM: Joker, as well as withdrawals from the awesomeness of Phantom Hourglass, made me cave. So, I started playing Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Ring of Fates (quite a mouthful).

As expected, the production values are amazing! With Square Enix it never seems to be so much a matter of how many polygons are used, but more a matter of polish; they rarely leave any rough edges, and Ring of Fates is true to that form.

[​IMG] [​IMG]

The game itself is kind of on the easy side, so far. I'm on the fourth boss battle (I believe it is) -- some magician dude -- and it's the first boss that's really offering any resistance. The creeps / monsters, too, are pretty much push-overs. I guess I'd say Ring of Fates is much like Children of Mana in most respects, but the presentation is far better. I can't understand a lick of Japanese, but I'm getting so much from the story and characters. The expressions and the way the cutscenes are done seem to tell the story well enough, and it's very interesting so far.

[​IMG] [​IMG]

I also dig the fact that whenever you change your armor, you character's appearance changes. That's a nice touch. Weapons, too, look different.

So far...easy, but fun. For the most part, though, most of the enjoyment for me is certainly coming from the overall look and feel of the game.

Anyone else tinker with Ring of Fates yet? What did you think?

2. NiGHtS

Member NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United Kingdom
    So what, it's Monster Hunter Freedom with a storyline?

3. Hero-Link

Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

Portugal